THE opening session of the 2008 Grand Slam of Darts will see defending champion Phil Taylor and World Champions John Part, Mark Webster and Anastasia Dobromyslova in action.

The tournament begins on Saturday November 15, with all 32 players competing across two sessions as the round robin group phase begins.

The afternoon session, starting at 12pm, will feature Part’s clash with Russian lady star Dobromyslova as two World Champions meet.

BDO World Champion Mark Webster takes on Northern Ireland’s Colin McGarry. while Adrian Lewis’ clash with Denis Ovens opens the tournament.

Defending Grand Slam of Darts champion Phil Taylor meets Durham’s former Lakeside Championship finalist Phill Nixon, and the 2007 runner-up Andy Hamilton takes on Brian Woods.

Saturday’s evening session will feature the 2007 Grand Slam of Darts semi-finalists Gary Anderson and Kevin McDine, when they take on Paul Nicholson and Wayne Mardle respectively.

PDC world number two Raymond van Barneveld opens his challenge against Kirk Shepherd, and James Wade takes on Niels de Ruiter.

The night also features the contest between former World Masters winners Mervyn King and Michael van Gerwen – who clashed in a decisive group game last year as the Englishman qualified for the last 16.

Sunday’s play will see the winners of Saturday’s games in each group meet, and the losers also clash. Monday sees the players in Groups A-D play their final group game, with Groups E-H playing their third matches on Tuesday night.

Due to a change in broadcast times, the semi-finals and final will now begin at 7pm and 7.30pm respectively.

Any fans who had purchased tickets for the original afternoon scheduling and cannot now attend the event will be entitled to a refund of their tickets, and should contact the Wolves Civic Box Office on 0870 320 7000.

* Tickets for the Pro-Celebrity Challenge on Friday November 14 and the Grand Slam of Darts from November 15-23 at the Wolverhampton Civic are still available on 0870 320 7000 or via Pro-Celebrity Challenge
Friday November 14 (7pm-10.30pm)
Phil Taylor & Neil Ruddock v Anastasia Dobromyslova & Steve Davis
John Part & Barry McGuigan v Wayne Mardle & Michael Le Vell
Raymond van Barneveld & Phil Tufnell v Mark Webster & Mike Tindall
James Wade & Steve Backley v Peter Manley & David “Devilfish” Ulliott
Taylor & Ruddock/Dobromyslova & Davis v Part & McGuigan/Mardle & Le Vell
van Barneveld & Tufnell/Webster/Tindall v Wade & Backley/Manley & Devilfish
Plus Final
All games the best of five legs, with celebrities throwing first. Grand Slam of Darts
Schedule of Play
Saturday November 15
Afternoon Session (12pm-5pm)
Adrian Lewis v Denis Ovens
Andy Hamilton v Brian Woods
Robert Thornton v Gary Mawson
John Part v Anastasia Dobromyslova
Phil Taylor v Phill Nixon
Mark Webster v Colin McGarry
Kevin Painter v Darryl Fitton
Terry Jenkins v Darin Young

Evening Session (6pm-11pm)
Vincent van der Voort v Andy Jenkins
Wayne Mardle v Kevin McDine
James Wade v Niels de Ruiter
Gary Anderson v Paul Nicholson
Raymond van Barneveld v Kirk Shepherd
Alan Tabern v Simon Whitlock
Mervyn King v Michael van Gerwen
Colin Lloyd v Wes Newton

Sunday November 16
Afternoon Session (12pm-5pm)
Losers of Saturday’s games face each other

Evening Session (7.30pm-12am)
Winners of Saturday’s games face each other

Monday November 17 (5.30pm-10.30pm)
Group A-D Final Games

Tuesday November 18 (5.30pm-10.30pm)
Group E-H Final Games

Wednesday November 19 (5.30pm-8pm & 10pm-12am)
Second Round (Best of 19 legs)
Winner Group A v Runner-Up Group B (Match 1)
Winner Group B v Runner-Up Group A (Match 2)
Winner Group C v Runner-Up Group D (Match 3)
Winner Group D v Runner-Up Group C (Match 4)
Order of matches subject to change
Please note that there will be a break between games due to an England football game being screened live on ITV4.

Thursday November 20 (5.30pm-10.30pm)
Second Round (Best of 19 legs)
Winner Group E v Runner-Up Group F (Match 5)
Winner Group F v Runner-Up Group E (Match 6)
Winner Group G v Runner-Up Group H (Match 7)
Winner Group H v Runner-Up Group G (Match 8)
Order of matches subject to change

Friday November 21 (5.30pm-10.30pm)
Quarter-Finals (Best of 19 legs)
Winner Match 1 v Winner Match 2 (Match 9)
Winner Match 3 v Winner Match 4 (Match 10)
Winner Match 5 v Winner Match 6 (Match 11)
Winner Match 7 v Winner Match 8 (Match 12)
Order of matches subject to change

Saturday November 22 (7pm-10.30pm)
Semi-Finals (Best of 31 legs)
Winner Match 9 v Winner Match 10
Winner Match 11 v Winner Match 12

Sunday November 23 (7.30pm-10.30pm)
Final (Best of 35 legs)

All games will be shown live on ITV4, with a nightly highlights programme on ITV1.

About The Author