The draw for the 2011 World Grand Prix was made on Sunday evening and as usual it has thrown up some intriguing ties. The schedule of play has been determined & detailed below.

With the short format and double in to start, the WGP ranks alongside the UK Open as the tournament of shocks. Round one is often a favourite’s graveyard but this year there are many matches where it is difficult to pinpoint exactly who the favourite is.

Try picking the winner from Mark Webster v Andy Hamilton, Vincent van der Voort v Kevin Painter, Justin Pipe v John Henderson, Jamie Caven v Denis Ovens, Mark Hylton v Mark Walsh.

Even the one sided games look like real banana skins – Phil Taylor will have his work cut out over the short format against Peter Wright. Adrian Lewis meets the man nobody wants in round one, John Part, Raymond van Barneveld would have liked an easier match up than Mervyn King,  defending champion James Wade won’t relish tackling Steve Brown first up, Simon Whitlock has a stinker of a draw against Terry Jenkins, and Gary Anderson has pulled out Sunday’s Nuland winner, Richie Burnett. There are no easy games in darts these days.

We will have some head to heads and form stats for all the first round matches later in the week and hope to give you some indication of who might go deep and where to put your money.

And don’t forget DartsMad run the original and best Beat The Tipster comp on the web. We have been running for 5 years now would you believe and we have another great comp for the World Grand Prix. Get over there and try to Beat the Tipster..!

Schedule of Play
Monday October 3 (7pm)
First Round
Brendan Dolan v Wayne Jones
Justin Pipe v John Henderson
Vincent van der Voort v Kevin Painter
Wes Newton v Colin Lloyd
Adrian Lewis v John Part
James Wade v Steve Brown
Raymond van Barneveld v Mervyn King
William O’Connor v Andy Smith

Tuesday October 4 (7pm)
First Round
Jamie Caven v Denis Ovens
Mark Hylton v Mark Walsh
Dave Chisnall v Alan Tabern
Mark Webster v Andy Hamilton
Gary Anderson v Richie Burnett
Phil Taylor v Peter Wright
Simon Whitlock v Terry Jenkins
Ronnie Baxter v Paul Nicholson

Wednesday October 5 (7pm start)
Second Round
Newton/Lloyd v Pipe/Henderson
Wade/Brown v van der Voort/Painter
van Barneveld/King v O’Connor/Smith
Lewis/Part v Dolan/Jones

Thursday October 6 (7pm)
Second Round
Webster/Hamilton v Chisnall/Tabern
Whitlock/Jenkins v Hylton/Walsh
Taylor/Wright v Baxter/Nicholson
Anderson/Burnett v Caven/Ovens

Friday October 7 (7pm)
Lewis/Part/Dolan/Jones v Newton/Lloyd/Pipe/Henderson
van Barneveld/King/O’Connor/Smith v Wade/Brown/van der Voort/Painter
Taylor/Wright/Baxter/Nicholson v Webster/Hamilton/Chisnall/Tabern
Whitlock/Jenkins/Hylton/Walsh v Anderson/Burnett/Caven/Ovens

Saturday October 8 (7pm)

Sunday October 9
6pm – Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay Final
Connie Finnan v Shane O’Connor
Best of 11 legs

7pm - World Grand Prix Final

Qualified Players
PDC Order of Merit Top 16 (Top Eight Seeded)

1 Phil Taylor
2 Adrian Lewis
3 James Wade
4 Gary Anderson
5 Simon Whitlock
6 Raymond van Barneveld
7 Wes Newton
8 Mark Webster
9 Paul Nicholson
10 Terry Jenkins
11 Andy Hamilton
12 Mervyn King
13 Wayne Jones
14 Mark Walsh
15 Colin Lloyd
16 Ronnie Baxter

Players Championship Order of Merit Qualifiers
17 John Part
18 Vincent van der Voort
19 Justin Pipe
20 Jamie Caven
21 Andy Smith
22 Peter Wright
23 Dave Chisnall
24 Kevin Painter
25 Denis Ovens
26 Richie Burnett
27 Alan Tabern
28 Steve Brown
29 Mark Hylton
30 John Henderson

Top Two Players from Ireland/Northern Ireland in Players Championship Order of Merit
31 Brendan Dolan
32 William O’Connor

About The Author