Results from Night 2 of the ‘Double-in in Dublin’ 

Night 2 of the 2012 World Grand Prix darts kicked off with a fine win for Steve Beaton. The Adonis was deadly on his doubles hitting 6 out of 9 and dumping out Andy Smith 2-0, with a 94 average, including 4 180’s.

Mark Webster’s miserable year continued, a brilliant 140 check out from nowhere being the only highlight for him in a 2-0 defeat to the hand of Stoke star Andy Hamilton.

Michael van Gerwen continued his winning ways, knocking out the 2004 Champion Colin Lloyd 2-1 despite losing the first set.

Wes Newton got the all Blackpool affair underway with an opening contribution of 152 (D16 t20 T20) in his game against Ronnie Baxter, however it was Ronnie Baxter who took the early initiative.

Heavy scoring and accurate finishing saw him reel off 5 legs without reply, to move within 1 leg of the match.

Prior to this evening The Rocket had failed to win a game at the Grand Prix since 2006, and despite having a match dart at bull, his barren spell continued.

The Warrior dug deep and reminded the Irish crowd why he is a Top 5 ranked player as he turned the game around zoning in on the doubles and winning the second set 3-2 and the final set 3-1.

James Wade looked to be cruising into  the second round as he led Colin Osborne 1 set to nil and 2-0 in the second set. However, two missed darts at tops signaled the start of his capitulation and the Osborne comeback.

6 straight legs for Ozzy booked his second round place at the expense of an uncomfortable and fragile looking James Wade, who could offer no resistance in the final few legs.

World Champion Adrian Lewis and Richie Burnett shared the first two sets in their first round encounter with Jackpot moving ahead in the deciding set courtesy of a 10 dart leg.

The next leg saw the Prince of Wales miss 15 darts at a double to get started allowing Lewis to go 2-0 in front. Lewis then returned the favour missing 12 starting doubles in the next resulting in 2-1 .

Despite a valiant effort from the Welshman including 5 match 180’s the World Champion went on to win the fourth leg for a 2 sets to 1 victory.

Check outs of 144, 132 and van Barneveld’s inability to hit a starting double allowed Ian White to steal the first set of their match from under the Dutchman’s nose, who had initially led 2-0.

White then kicked on to win the match 2-0, not really a shock given his recent form and record against Barney.

In the night’s final came Paul Nicholson settled in early favouring D16 to start and moving to 19’s in his first visits. He forged a 2-0 lead, but failed to kill of 93 at two attempts letting Mickey Mansell into the game.

The Assett regained focus to take the first set 3-2 with a 156 out shot, before taking control of the match winning the next 3 legs without reply for a 2-0 victory and place in the second round. World Grand Prix First Round Results Tuesday 9 October

Steve Beaton 2-0 Andy Smith
Andy Hamilton 2-0 Mark Webster
Michael van Gerwen 2 v 1 Colin Lloyd – Michael van Gerwen wins the bull and throws first
Wes Newton 2 v 1 Ronnie Baxter
James Wade 1 v 2 Colin Osborne
Adrian Lewis 2 v 1 Richie Burnett
Raymond van Barneveld 0 v 2 Ian White
Michael Mansell 0 v 2 Paul Nicholson

World Grand Prix Links

World Grand Prix Draw | Beat The Tipster |  World Grand Prix 2011 Results | World Grand Prix Role of Honour

Subscribe to updates here and get the latest darts news delivered to your inbox.

Second Round Fixtures

Wednesday October 10 (7pm-11pm)
Second Round

Brendan Dolan v Vincent van der Voort
Justin Pipe v Kevin Painter
Phil Taylor v Robert Thornton
Mervyn King v Dave Chisnall

Thursday October 11 (7pm-11pm)
Second Round

Andy Hamilton v Steve Beaton
Colin Osborne v Paul Nicholson
Adrian Lewis v Michael van Gerwen
Wes Newton v Ian White
All Second Round games are the best of five sets, the best of five legs per set. Players must hit a double to start and finish each leg.