In a tournament were The Power messed around with his darts and didn’t quite stamp his authority as we know he can, the rest of the field still couldn’t topple him.

Mervyn King ran him close but no cigar in the first round, and 2007 Matchplay winner James Wade stayed with him in the final for 30 legs, before Taylor made a surge for the finish line.

The 18-15 victory over Wade brought home his 13th Matchplay title and equaled his own record of 5 successive titles.

Elsewhere, young James Hubbard aquitted himself well, despite a first round exit at the hands of Wes Newton, and Michael van Gerwen showed glimmers of the potential that many talked up when he was just a teenager.  PDC newcomer Dean Winstanley had a good run, giving us a shot to remember by hitting the obscured bulls eye in defeating Gary Anderson.

Semi-finalists Terry Jenkins and Ronnie Baxter, along with the Champion flew the flag for the erm.. older dartist! With an average age of half a century between them, they demonstrated to the young guns that long careers await them, if they can remain focused and hungry.

The tournament also gave us two 9 darters, firstly by van Gerwen, with Wes Newton matching the feat the following evening. Some say it’s the boards/advance in tungsten technology that accounts for the many perfect legs we see in the modern game, others attribute it to the dedication, practice and professionalism of today’s stars.

One thing is for sure, when Wes threw the dart at double 12, he knew he was throwing for a maximum of £2.5k (half the £5k prize money). When John Lowe threw for the double 18 in the event back in 1984, the carrot was much larger, £102k to be precise, roughly equivalent to £250k today. So in days of yore, there was more riding on it, possibly inducing more nerves and tension in the players.

But never mind that….Did you beat the Tipster?

Once again our Tipster was trounced, meaning plenty of players went into the hat for the Unicorn prizes.

Remember everyone who beats the Tipster goes into the draw, final placings do not determine the prize allocation. This (along with our automated online entry) is what makes our competition unique and interesting long after the final dart is thrown.

Fittingly, the winners were selected yesterday by Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor, fresh from his victory in Blackpool!

  • Phil Taylor Phase 5 Rosso Darts – Simon Shaw
  • Unicorn On-Tour – Ryan Clark
  • Unicorn Eclipse Pro – Kevin Dunstan

Winners will be contacted in the next few days to arrange delivery of their prizes.

Special thanks to Unicorn for their continued sponsorship of our Beat The Tipster competition.

Keep an eye out future Tipster competitions, or subscribe to our news updates to ensure you never miss out.

About The Author