The 2013 darts calendar will welcome back the McCoy’s Premier League Darts with the season kicking off at Belfast’s Odyssey Arena. With £450,000 on offer the 15-week tour of the UK & Ireland’s biggest arenas will be as big as ever.

Eight of the world’s top PDC players – including reigning PL champion Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis, the current World Champion – will contest the tournament. Sky Sports will be screening the live action on Thursday nights.

The 14-week league season, with the 8 players facing each other twice, starts on Thursday February 7 at Belfast’s Odyssey Arena.

The roadshow then travels to Aberdeen before heading to England for league nights in Bournemouth, Exeter, Nottingham and Manchester.

Wales, Scotland, England and Ireland host the mid-season nights with Cardiff, Glasgow, Brighton, Sheffield and Dublin all expecting to be packed out. Dublin’s O2 hosted over 9,000 fans in March when the PL made its debut there.

The league stage will be completed with nights in Birmingham, Liverpool and Newcastle before the top four players progress to contest for the title in the Play-Offs at The O2, London on Thursday May 16.

“The McCoy’s Premier League Darts was the best-ever in 2012 and we’re already looking forward with excitement to next year’s tournament,” said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

“Not only did we celebrate two nine-dart finishes during the course of the event, but the players who achieved that feat, Phil Taylor and Simon Whitlock, went on to contest a brilliant final in London.

“The race for Play-Off places also went right to the final night with seven of the eight players still in contention, which shows how keenly fought this prestigious title is.

“The McCoy’s Premier League Darts continues to get better and better each year, and we’re delighted that Belfast’s Odyssey Arena, a venue which is traditionally filled with a fantastic crowd, will stage the opening night of what promises to be a memorable tournament.”

Qualification criteria for the 2013 PL sees the top four players from the PDC Order of Merit at the start of January following the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship, joined by four Wildcard selections.

Three of the world’s current top four - Phil Taylor, James Wade and Gary Anderson - are former PL champions with Adrian Lewis completing the quartet. Wes Newton, Andy Hamilton, Simon Whitlock and Terry Jenkins are all vying to break into that group and earn an automatic place in the tournament with success in the remaining major events of 2012.

Tickets for the 2013 McCoy’s Premier League Darts will go on sale during October, with a Priority Sales period from October 8-14 being held for LIVEPDC.TV Annual Subscribers before tickets are released on General Sale on Monday October 15.

Full details of how to purchase tickets will be announced in due course at

2013 McCoy’s Premier League Darts Dates

Night One Thursday February 7 Odyssey Arena, Belfast
Night Two Thursday February 14 AECC, Aberdeen
Night Three Thursday February 21 BIC, Bournemouth
Night Four Thursday February 28 Westpoint Arena, Exeter
Night Five Thursday March 7 Capital FM Arena, Nottingham
Night Six Thursday March 14 Manchester Arena
Night Seven Thursday March 21 Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff
Night Eight Thursday March 28 SECC, Glasgow
Night Nine Thursday April 4 The Brighton Centre
Night Ten Thursday April 11 Motorpoint Arena, Sheffield
Night 11 Thursday April 18 The O2, Dublin
Night 12 Thursday April 25 NIA, Birmingham
Night 13 Thursday May 2 Echo Arena, Liverpool
Night 14 Thursday May 9 Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle
Play-Offs Thursday May 16 The O2, London

About The Author