James Wade Progresses But Pipe and Winstanley Exit Early

James Wade overcame Robbie Green before whitewashing Matt Gallett and Wayne Jones to book his place in the last 64 of the 2013 UK open, where he will face in-form Jamie Caven.

Wade is joined in the third round by Phil taylor who eased past Kevin Dowling 5-1 in his second round fixture but has a potential banana skin in his next opponent Ronny Huybrechts.

Justin Pipe, Dean Winstanley, Vincent van der Voort, Co Stompe, James Hubbard and Arron Monk were among the list of players dumped out of the tournament on the first night.

Subscribe to DartsMad and receive the latest darts news in your inbox

The full results from tonight’s play and the third round draw are listed below. The live draw has thrown up a few tasty fixtures – a battle of the former multiple World Champions between Ted Hankey and John Part.

An all Welsh affair between Richie Burnett and Mark Webster and the big guns will fight it out as van Gerwen faces Mervyn King and Wes Newton takes on Simon Whitlock.

We must also mention Matthew Edgar, the OLBG.com sponsored player edged a scrappy game to send Colin Osborne home and now has the unenviable task of toeing the oche with Super-Scot Robert Thornton. And Kirk Shepherd found a return to winning ways and will play Mark Cox tomorrow.

2013 Speedy Services UK Open Results 06/06/13

Main Stage Results

Preliminary Round
Robbie Green 2-5 James Wade
Vincent van der Voort 5-4 Andy Murray
First Round
Conan Whitehead 5-4 Roland Scholten
James Hubbard 5-2 John Scott
Mark Lawrence 5-4 Mensur Suljovic
Darrell Thorpe 0-5 Stephen Bunting
Second Round
Ricky Sudale 4-5 Richie Burnett
Kevin Dowling 1-5 Phil Taylor
Matthew Edgar 5-4 Colin Osborne
Ted Hankey 5 v 1 Dave Weston

Board Two Results

Preliminary Round
Nick Fullwell 1-5 Wayne Jones
Colin Osborne 5-3 Steve Hine
First Round
Dave Weston 5-4 Dean Winstanley
Paul Whitworth 2-5 Andy Boulton
Justin Pipe 2-5 Gareth Pass
Steve Farmer 2-5 Gaz Cousins
Second Round
Alex Roy 4-5 Mark Cox
Jake Pennington 3-5 Steve West
Magnus Caris 1-5 Kirk Shepherd
Joey Palfreyman 5 v 3 Keegan Brown

Board Three Results

Preliminary Round
Steve Farmer 5-3 Chris Aubrey
Stuart Lowe 1-5 Jake Pennington
First Round
Michael Burgoine 5-0 Daz Twist
James Wade 5-0 Matt Gallett
Prakash Jiwa 5-2 Darren Johnson
Gary Stone 5-4 Maik Langendorf
Second Round
Adam Hunt 5-1 Paul Amos
Scott Marsh 0-5 Jyhan Artut
Connie Finnan 4-5 Adrian Gray
Stephen Bunting 5-2 Jason Wilson

Board Four Results

Preliminary Round
Gino Vos 5-3 Alan Derrett
Keegan Brown 5-3 Keith Rooney
First Round
Jason Wilson 5-2 Tomas Seyler
Steve Brown 4-5 Adrian Gray
Gavin Baker 4-5 Dave Place
Tony West 3-5 Jake Pennington
Second Round
Colin Fowler 4-5 Matt Padgett
Gary Stone 1-5 Dennis Smith
James Wade 5-0 Wayne Jones
Steven Mead 3 v 5 Dean Stewart

Board Five Results

Preliminary Round
Stephen Bunting 5-0 Vernon Sheppard
Connie Finnan 5-2 Campbell Jackson
Scott Coleman 5-0 Mark McGeeney
First Round
Andy Parsons 5-3 Jamie Hagen
Andrew McNicol 2-5 Steven Mead
Bernd Roith 3-5 Ted Hankey
Shaun Griffiths 2-5 Keegan Brown
Second Round
Co Stompe 4-5 Michael Mansell
Peter Hudson 4-5 Mark Lawrence
James Hubbard 3-5 Andy Smith
Michael Bushby 1 v 5 Jim Walker

Board Six Results

Preliminary Round
Michael Musto 1-5 Bernd Roith
Maik Langendorf 5-2 Tony Martin
Darren Johnson 5-3 Antonio Alcinas
First Round
Michael Bushby 5-4 John Mortimer
Nigel Daniels 1-5 Johnny Haines
Scott Coleman 3-5 Scott Marsh
Connie Finnan 5-1 Gino Vos
Second Round
Mark Walsh 4-5 Lee Palfreyman
Arron Monk 2-5 Gaz Cousins
Scott Robertson 4-5 Andy Boulton
Gareth Pass 4 v 5 Jelle Klaasen

Board Seven Results

Preliminary Round
Royden Lam 5-2 Paddy Meaney
Tony West 5-3 Jamie Lewis
First Round
Matthew Dennant 5-3 Darrell Townsend
Matt Padgett 5-0 David Copley
Dean Stewart 5-3 Gus Santana
Vincent van der Voort 3-5 Kirk Shepherd
Second Round
Ricky Evans 2-5 Joe Cullen
Terry Temple 5-1 Prakash Jiwa
David Place 2-5 John Henderson
William O’Connor 5-2 Johnny Haines

Board Eight Results

Preliminary Round
Tam Dymond 1-5 Gavin Baker
Terry Dunford 1-5 Dean Stewart
First Round
Robbie Singleton 1-5 William O’Connor
Leon De Geus 3-5 Scott Robertson
Colin Osborne 5-4 Mark Dudbridge
Wayne Jones 5-3 Royden Lam
Second Round
Andy Jenkins 5-4 Nigel Heydon
Michael Burgoine 4-5 Richie Howson
Kevin Thomas 1-5 Conan Whitehead
Matthew Dennant 5 v 2 Andy Parsons

2013  UK Open Last 64 Draw

Steve West v Ian White

James Wade v Jamie Caven

Robert Thornton v Matthew Edgar

Matt Padgett v Richie Howson

Ken MacNeil v Ronnie Baxter

Mark Lawrence v Terry Temple

Conan Whitehead v Michael Mansell

Phil Taylor v Ronnie Huybrechts

Adrian Lewis v Matthew Dennant

Kevin McDine V Adam Hunt

Terry Jenkins v Jim Walker

Peter Wright v Gaz Cousins

Dave Chisnall v William O’Connor

Kim Huybrechts v Jyhan Artut

Steve Beaton v Joey Palfreyman

Adrian Gray v Dean Stewart

John Part v Ted Hankey

Gary Anderson v Andy Smith

Brendan Dolan v Colin Lloyd

Stephen Bunting v Andy Jenkins

Kirk Shepherd v Mark Cox

Andy Hamilton v Andy Boulton

Stuart Kellett v Dennis Smith

Kevin Painter v Jason Hogg

John Henderson v Scott Rand

Raymond van Barneveld v Michael Smith

John Bowles v Paul Nicholson

Lee Palfreyman v Joe Cullen

Mark Webster v Richie Burnett

Ross Smith v Jelle Klaasen

Simon Whitlock v Wes Newton

Michael van Gerwen v Mervyn King

UK Open Links

UK Open Draw | UK Open Schedule | UK Open Roll of Honour | UK Open History & Related News | UK Open 2012 Results | Darts Player Stats | Darts Player Head to Heads


About The Author