Wes Newton and Richie Burnett will clash in a tasty first round tie at the Gibraltar Darts Trophy on Friday, while Michael van Gerwen has recovered from an ankle injury to take his place in the European Tour event in Gibraltar.

The £100,000 tournament will kick off at the Victoria Stadium on Friday as the tournament’s 32 qualifiers meet in one bumper session of darts.

PDC world number six James Wade, one of the 20 UK Qualifiers, will take Gino Vos in the first round, with the Dutch youngster being one of the eight European Qualifiers who earned their spot in the event on Thursday night.

High profile clashes include Wes Newton’s meeting with Richie Burnett and the clash between former World Youth Champion Michael Smith and Andy Smith – with the winner of that contest progressing to face 2013 Gibraltar Darts Trophy winner Phil Taylor in Saturday’s second round.

Vincent van der Voort, last weekend’s Austrian Darts Open winner, won his spot in the event with a comeback defeat of Joey Ten Berge in an all-Dutch clash in the European Qualifier and now takes on Kevin Painter in a tasty first round duel before the winner takes on world number four Simon Whitlock.

World Champion Michael van Gerwen has recovered sufficiently from the ankle injury which forced him to miss last weekend’s Austrian Darts Open to take his place in the field in Gibraltar, and he will take on the winner of a first round game between Spain’s Antonio Alcinas and Holland’s Benito van de Pas.

At least one of the four Host Nation Qualifiers from Gibraltar will progress to the second round after World Cup representative Dyson Parody and Henry Zapata were drawn to meet each other, with the other two home hopes, Antony Lopez and Manuel Vilerio taking on Daryl Gurney and Dean Winstanley respectively.

There was disappointment, though, for Parody’s World Cup of Darts team-mate Dylan Duo, who went down 6-2 to Antony Lopez as the local policeman earned his debut in a PDC event.

Spain’s Antonio Alcinas defeated Austria’s Zoran Lerchbacher and Dutch youngster Dirk van Duijvenbode as he progressed to a first round tie with another European Qualifier, Holland’s Benito van de Pas, who saw off Antonio Palma and Jelle Klaasen to qualify.

Two other young Dutch aces joined them in qualifying, with Gino Vos now progressing to play seven-time major winner James Wade and Ryan De Vreede set to kick off the first round on Friday afternoon against emerging English thrower Adam Hunt.

Belgium’s Ronny Huybrechts joined brother Kim Huybrechts – one of the 16 seeded stars – in the main event as he came from 3-0 down to defeat Spanish-based Wayne Dunn 6-4.

Youngster Dimitri Van den Bergh added a third Belgian qualifier to the main event as he defeated German pair Tomas Seyler and Max Hopp with 6-2 victories to progress to a first round clash with Mark Webster.

Jyhan Artut will represent Germany in the main event, with his victory over Jordy Terburg setting up a clash with 2013 PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour star Ben Ward.

Tickets for the Gibraltar Darts Trophy are available on the day at the Victoria Stadium, with coverage of the tournament to be streamed worldwide through the following websites:
Bet365 – www.bet365.com
Coral – www.coral.co.uk
Ladbrokes – www.ladbrokes.com
Unibet – www.unibet.com
William Hill – www.williamhill.com
To view live coverage, fans must be registered with the respective website listed above
LIVEPDC.TV – www.LIVEPDC.TV for all subscribers outside of the UK & Ireland.

Live Scores will be available through the PDC Live Scores Website, http://live.dartsdata.com.

Gibraltar Darts Trophy Final Qualifier Results

Victoria Stadium, June 26 2014
Host Nation Qualifer
Preliminary Round
George Federico 6-0 Jeremy Cruz
Justin Ghio 6-3 Kevin O’Callaghan

First Round
Henry Zapata 6-4 George Federico
Antony Lopez 6-2 Dylan Duo
Manuel Vilerio 6-2 Justin Ghio
Dyson Parody 6-1 Takahashi Shimidzu

HNQ1 Henry Zapata
HNQ2 Antony Lopez
HNQ3 Manuel Vilerio
HNQ4 Dyson Parody

European Qualifier
Preliminary Round
Wayne Dunn 6-2 Stephen Hardie
Antonio Alcinas 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Dirk van Diujvenbode 6-5 Salmon Renyaan
Max Hopp 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Tomas Seyler
Joey Ten Berge 6-4 Stefan Couwenberg
Jordy Terburg 6-0 Alvaro Molina
Richard van Zijtveld 6-5 Mareno Michels
Ryan De Vreede 6-3 Jerry Hendriks
Benito van de Pas 6-1 Antonio Palma
Gino Vos 6-4 Kevin Voornhout

First Round
Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Wayne Dunn
Antonio Alcinas 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Max Hopp
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Joey Ten Berge
Jyhan Artut 6-4 Jordy Terburg
Ryan De Vreede 6-4 Richard van Zijtveld
Benito van de Pas 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Gino Vos 6-4 Christian Kist

EQ1 Ronny Huybrechts
EQ2 Antonio Alcinas
EQ3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
EQ4 Vincent van der Voort
EQ5 Jyhan Artut
EQ6 Ryan De Vreede
EQ7 Benito van de Pas
EQ8 Gino Vos

Main Event Schedule of Play
Friday June 27 (3pm-11pm local time, 2pm-10pm BST)
First Round
Adam Hunt v Ryan De Vreede
Ronny Huybrechts v James Hubbard
Antonio Alcinas v Benito van de Pas
Ben Ward v Jyhan Artut
Matt Clark v John Henderson
Antony Lopez v Daryl Gurney
Denis Ovens v Johnny Haines
Pete Dyos v Jason Lovett
Andy Parsons v Mark Walsh
Michael Smith v Andy Smith
Richie Burnett v Wes Newton
Vincent van der Voort v Kevin Painter
James Wade v Gino Vos
Henry Zapata v Dyson Parody
Mark Webster v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Dean Winstanley v Manuel Vilerio

Saturday June 28
Second Round
Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm local time, 11am-3pm BST)
Ian White v Burnett/Newton
Kim Huybrechts v Ward/Artut
Jamie Caven v Clark/Henderson
Justin Pipe v Dyos/Lovett
Steve Beaton v Parsons/Walsh
Peter Wright v Ovens/Haines
Mervyn King v Hunt/De Vreede
Dave Chisnall v R Huybrechts/Hubbard

Evening Session (5.30pm-9.30pm, 4.30pm-8.30pm BST)
Brendan Dolan v Webster/Van den Bergh
Robert Thornton v Lopez/Gurney
Andy Hamilton v Wade/Vos
Adrian Lewis v Winstanley/Vilerio
Phil Taylor v M Smith/A Smith
Michael van Gerwen v Alcinas/van de Pas
Gary Anderson v Zapata/Parody
Simon Whitlock v van der Voort/Painter

Sunday June 29
Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm local time, 11am-3pm BST)
Third Round
Games played in draw bracket order

Evening Session (5.30pm-9.30pm, 4.30pm-8.30pm BST)
Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals & Final

All games are the best of 11 legs

Second Round Draw & Tournament Draw Bracket
Brendan Dolan (3) v Webster/Van den Bergh
Simon Whitlock (14) v van der Voort/Painter
Dave Chisnall (6) v R Huybrechts/Hubbard
Mervyn King (11) v Hunt/De Vreede
Peter Wright (7) v Ovens/Haines
Steve Beaton (10) v Parsons/Walsh
Gary Anderson (2) v Zapata/Parody
Justin Pipe (15) v Dyos/Lovett
Robert Thornton (4) v Lopez/Gurney
Adrian Lewis (13) v Winstanley/Vilerio
Phil Taylor (5) v M Smith/A Smith
Jamie Caven (12) v Clark/Henderson
Kim Huybrechts (8) v Ward/Artut
Ian White (9) v Burnett/Newton
Michael van Gerwen (1) v Alcinas/van de Pas
Andy Hamilton (16) v Wade/Vos

About The Author