JAMES WADE and Mervyn King will collide once more in the group stage of the SINGHA Beer Grand Slam of Darts after being paired in a group alongside Tony O’Shea and Jamie Caven for the £400,000 event, while Phil Taylor begins his defence of the title against Richie George on Saturday.

Wade and King fought out an epic contest in the final of The Unibet Masters in Edinburgh on Sunday, as the left-hander came from 9-2 down to claim the title with a dramatic 11-10 victory.

They will meet again during the round-robin stage at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall next week, although number six seed Wade will firstly open his challenge against Wildcard Qualifier Caven and King takes on former semi-finalist O’Shea in Group G.

Reigning Grand Slam of Darts champion Phil Taylor heads Group E as the event’s number two seed, and takes on former Lakeside Championship semi-finalist Richie George in their opener, with Andy Hamilton meeting Holland’s former Lakeside Champion Christian Kist in their group’s other clash on Saturday.

PDC World Champion and number one seed Michael van Gerwen, the 2012 runner-up at the Wolves Civic, meets Wildcard Qualifier Darren Webster in their Group A opener, and Belgium’s Kim Huybrechts faces Holland’s Jan Dekker.

Reigning Lakeside Champion Stephen Bunting will make his Grand Slam debut against another Dutch ace, Wesley Harms, as their Group H rivals Gary Anderson and Dean Winstanley also face off.

2012 Grand Slam of Darts winner and current Premier League Darts champion meets Wolverhampton debutant Robbie Green in Group D, with 2013 runner-up Robert Thornton taking on Holland’s Vincent van der Voort in their opener.

Number five seed Adrian Lewis, the two-time World Champion and reigning UK Open champion, will meet Austrian youngster Rowby-John Rodriguez in Group C, with Dave Chisnall taking on World Youth Champion Keegan Brown in Saturday’s opening games.

Peter Wright, the number seven seed and 2014 PDC World Championship runner-up, takes on Wildcard Qualifier Brendan Dolan in their Group F opener, with top Australian Simon Whitlock and former World Youth Champion Michael Smith also in a tough-looking quartet.

Debutant Alan Norris, January’s Lakeside Championship runner-up to Bunting, heads Group B as the number eight seed as he faces Belgian ace Ronny Huybrechts on Saturday, with 2010 Grand Slam champion Scott Waites taking on recent European Championship finalist Terry Jenkins in the other contest.

Saturday’s games – split across two sessions at the Wolves Civic live on Sky Sports – see the players compete in the first of three group games, with all 32 players in action again on Sunday and then on either Monday or Tuesday.

The top two players from each group then progress to the knockout phase, with the tournament concluding on Sunday November 16 with the semi-finals and final across two sessions.

Tickets for the SINGHA Beer Grand Slam of Darts are still available from the Wolves Civic Box Office on 0870 320 7000 or via www.wolvescivic.co.uk, although some sessions have already sold out.

The schedule of play for the opening games on Saturday November 8 will be confirmed on Tuesday.

Michael van Gerwen (1)
Kim Huybrechts
Jan Dekker
Darren Webster

Alan Norris (8)
Scott Waites
Terry Jenkins
Ronny Huybrechts

Adrian Lewis (5)
Dave Chisnall
Keegan Brown
Rowby-John Rodriguez

Raymond van Barneveld (4)
Robert Thornton
Vincent van der Voort
Robbie Green

Phil Taylor (2)
Andy Hamilton
Christian Kist
Richie George

Peter Wright (7)
Simon Whitlock
Michael Smith
Brendan Dolan

James Wade (6)
Mervyn King
Tony O’Shea
Jamie Caven

Stephen Bunting (3)
Gary Anderson
Dean Winstanley
Wesley Harms

About The Author