Brothers Kim Darts ticketsand Ronny Huybrechts will meet in the first round of the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship, while reigning champion Phil Taylor has drawn either New Zealand’s Rob Szabo or qualifier Ian Moss as he begins the defence of his title at Alexandra Palace.

The Belgian duo will meet for a third time in a PDC competition when the £1 million Ladbrokes World Championship kicks off later this month, after being paired in Monday’s first round draw.

Elder brother Ronny took victory earlier this year in a PDC ProTour semi-final, while Kim gained revenge as he reached the Grand Slam of Darts quarter-finals last month in Wolverhampton.

Reigning and 16-time World Champion Phil Taylor – the 5/6 favourite with sponsors Ladbrokes – will begin his bid to retain the title when he plays the winner of a preliminary round clash between New Zealand National Champion Rob Szabo and English debutant Ian Moss, the PDPA Qualifier runner-up last week.

Number two seed and 5/1 second favourite Michael van Gerwen, the runner-up 12 months ago who has won the Premier League and Players Championship Finals titles this year, will also play a preliminary round winner as he faces either Austria’s Zoran Lerchbacher or PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour Order of Merit runner-up Ben Ward.

Adrian Lewis, the two-time World Champion in 2011 and 2012 and the 6/1 third favourite, plays experienced Dennis Smith, while fellow former champions Raymond van Barneveld drew Welshman Jamie Lewis and John Part takes on Holland’s Mareno Michels.

Number four seed Simon Whitlock, the 2010 finalist, takes on Challenge Tour winner Ross Smith, 2012 runner-up Andy Hamilton takes on either Spanish debutant Julio Barbero or Germany’s Andree Welge, and three-time semi-finalist James Wade, seeded sixth, is draw with Norfolk’s Darren Webster.

October’s World Grand Prix runner-up Dave Chisnall takes on Scotland’s John Henderson, number eight seed Wes Newton has drawn either Holland’s Gino Vos or Hong Kong’s Ting Chi Royden Lam and Robert Thornton plays German teenager Max Hopp.

Justin Pipe, who is seeded 11th, will meet former World Youth Champion Arron Monk, 2004 finalist Kevin Painter is drawn with Germany’s Tomas Seyler, Mervyn King takes on top American left-hander Darin Young and Brendan Dolan faces either Danish qualifier Dennis Lindskjold or Philippines champion Edward Santos.

Peter Wright, whose progress this year has seen him move up to 16th in the world, has draw Joe Cullen, while Terry Jenkins will meet either Northern Ireland’s Colin McGarry or Denmark’s Per Laursen.

Two former finalists will clash as 2011 runner-up Gary Anderson takes on 2005 finalist Mark Dudbridge, who has returned from shoulder and elbow surgery 12 months ago to ensure a World Championship return.

Ronnie Baxter meets World Youth Championship runner-up Ricky Evans, Paul Nicholson drew Stuart Kellett and Ian White plays Kyle Anderson – the Australian number one whose brother Beau, the Oceanic Masters winner, will take on Colin Lloyd.

Steve Beaton will meet the winner of the preliminary round tie between South African ace Devon Petersen or Malaysia’s Mohammed Latif Sapup, with Jamie Caven drawing Jelle Klaasen and Mark Webster up against top Austrian Mensur Suljovic.

Andy Smith takes on Bristol’s Steve Brown, Richie Burnett takes on Dean Winstanley, who hit a nine-darter last year, Mark Walsh plays Finland’s Jarkko Komula, Vincent van der Voort meets PDPA Qualifier winner Matt Clark and Wayne Jones takes on Kevin McDine.

World Youth Champion Michael Smith, the number 32 seed, completes the draw as he faces either Japanese number one Morihiro Hashimoto or Singapore’s veteran thrower Paul Lim, who is appearing in his 20th World Championship.

The Ladbrokes World Darts Championship will be held from December 13 2013-January 1 2014 at Alexandra Palace in London, featuring 72 players from around the world and a record first prize of £250,000 from over £1 million in prize money.

Coverage is live on Sky Sports HD throughout the event, with the semi-finals and final being shown in 3D.

2014 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship Draw

First Round Draw & Tournament Bracket

1 Phil Taylor V Rob Szabo/Ian Moss
32 Michael Smith V Morihiro Hashimoto/Paul Lim
16 Peter Wright V Joe Cullen
17 Terry Jenkins V Colin McGarry/Per Laursen
8 Wes Newton V Gino Vos/Ting Chi Royden Lam
25 John Part V Mareno Michels
9 Robert Thornton V Max Hopp
24 Colin Lloyd V Beau Anderson
5 Andy Hamilton V Julio Barbero/Andree Welge
28 Richie Burnett V Dean Winstanley
12 Kim Huybrechts V Ronny Huybrechts
21 Ian White V Kyle Anders! on
4 Simon Whitlock V Ross Smith
29 Mark Walsh V Jarkko Komula
13 Kevin Painter V Tomas Seyler
20 Paul Nicholson V Stuart Kellett
2 Michael van Gerwen V Lerchbacher/Ward
31 Wayne Jones V Kevin McDine
15 Brendan Dolan V Dennis Lindskjold/Edward Santos
18 Gary Anderson V Mark Dudbridge
7 Dave Chisnall V John Henderson
26 Mark Webster V Mensur Suljovic
10 Raymond van Barneveld V Jamie Lewis
23 Jamie Caven V Jelle Klaasen
6 James Wade V Darren Webster
27 Andy Smith V Steve Br! own
11 Justin Pipe V Arron Monk
22 Steve Beaton V Devon Petersen/Mohammed Latif Sapup
3 Adrian Lewis V Dennis Smith
30 Vincent van der Voort V Matt Clark
14 Mervyn King V Darin Young
19 Ronnie Baxter V Ricky Evans

2014 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship Pre-Tournament Odds

Phil Taylor 5/6
Michael van Gerwen 5/1
Adrian Lewis 6/1
James Wade 22/1
Raymond van Barneveld 25/1
Simon Whitlock 25/1
Dave Chisnall 33/1
Gary Anderson 40/1
Kim Huybrechts 40/1
Andy Hamilton 50/1
Robert Thornton 50/1
Justin Pipe 66/1
Peter Wright 66/1
Wes Newton 80/1
Mervyn King 100/1
Paul Nicholson 125/1
Jamie Caven 125/1
Brendan Dolan 150/1
Ian White 150/1
Ronnie Baxter 150/1
Kevin Painter 150/1
Steve Beaton 150/1
Dean Winstanley 200/1
Terry Jenkins 200/1
Mark Webster 200/1
Jelle Klaasen 200/1
Stuart Kellett 200/1
John Part 200/1
Vincent van der Voort 250/1
Wayne Jones 250/1
Michael Smith 250/1
Ronny Huybrechts 250/1
Richie Burnett 250/1
Colin Lloyd 250/1
Mark Walsh 300/1
Arron Monk 300/1
Jamie Lewis 300/1
Andy Smith 300/1
Joe Cullen 400/1
Kevin McDine 500/1
Mark Dudbridge 500/1
Steve Brown 500/1
Mensur Suljovic 500/1
Ross Smith 500/1
Ricky Evans 500/1
Devon Petersen 500/1
Darren Webster 500/1
Gino Vos 750/1
Colin McGarry 750/1
Max Hopp 750/1
Darin Young 750/1
John Henderson 750/1
Dennis Smith 750/1
Ian Moss 1000/1
Jarkko Komula 1000/1
Kyle Anderson 1000/1
Tomas Seyler 1000/1
Mareno Michels 1000/1
Matt Clark 1000/1
Andree Welge 1000/1
Per Laursen 1500/1
Dennis Lindskjold 1500/1
Beau Anderson 1500/1
Ben Ward 1500/1
Zoran Lerchbacher 2000/1
Mohammed Latif Sapup 2000/1
Rob Szabo 2000/1
Ting Chi Royden Lam 2000/1
Edward Santos 2000/1
Paul Lim 2000/1
Morihiro Hashimoto 2000/1
Julio Barbero 2000/1
Correct at Dec 1 2013. See for latest odds.

2014 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship Session Schedule

Date Time Matches
Fri Dec 13 7pm-12am 1x Prelim, 4x R1
Sat Dec 14 12pm-5pm 1x Prelim, 4x R1
7pm-12am 1x Prelim, 4x R1
Sun Dec 15 7pm-12am 1x Prelim, 4x R1
Mon Dec 16 7pm-12am 1x Prelim, 4x R1
Tue Dec 17 7pm-12am 1x Prelim, 4x R1
Wed Dec 18 7pm-12am 1x Prelim, 4x R1
Thu Dec 19 7pm-11pm 1x Prelim, 4x R1
Fri Dec 20 7pm-11pm 3x R2
Sat Dec 21 7pm-11pm 3x R2
Sun Dec 22 12.30pm-4.30pm 3x R2
7pm-11pm 3x R2
Mon Dec 23 7pm-11pm 3x R2
Fri Dec 27 12.30pm-4.30pm 1x R2, 2x R3
7pm-11pm 3x R3
Sat Dec 28 12.30pm-4.30pm 3x R3
7pm-11pm 2x Quarter-Finals
Sun Dec 29 7pm-11pm 2x Quarter-Finals
Mon Dec 30 7pm-11pm Semi-Finals
Wed Jan 1 8pm-11pm Final

About The Author