PDC Darts tournament - the 2013 BetVictor World MatchplayThe field for the 2013 BetVictor World Matchplay was finalised following Adrian Lewis’s victory in the partypoker.net European Championship on Sunday.

Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen once again head the betting, you can find the full starting grid with odds from William Hill here.

Once again our renowned Beat The Tipster competition will be running so get on over there to take on our in-form Tipster!

BetVictor World Matchplay Draw Bracket
Phil Taylor (1) v Stuart Kellett
Terry Jenkins (16) v Andy Smith
Raymond van Barneveld (8) v Mensur Suljovic
Justin Pipe (9) v Mark Webster
Simon Whitlock (5) v Jelle Klaasen
Kevin Painter (12) v Jamie Lewis
James Wade (4) v John Part
Mervyn King (13) v Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen (2) v Colin Lloyd
Kim Huybrechts (15) v Peter Wright
Wes Newton (7) v Jamie Caven
Dave Chisnall (10) v Paul Nicholson
Andy Hamilton (6) v Ronnie Baxter
Robert Thornton (11) v Ian White
Adrian Lewis (3) v Ronny Huybrechts
Brendan Dolan (14) v Steve Beaton

PHIL TAYLOR will begin his bid for a record-extending 14th BetVictor World Matchplay title against Stuart Kellett later this month, while tournament favourite Michael van Gerwen has been drawn against 2005 champion Colin Lloyd.

Taylor, the reigning champion who is looking to win a record sixth successive title, meets Cheshire-based debutant Kellett in the first round of the event at Blackpool’s Winter Gardens.

Kellett, the UK Masters runner-up in March, is one of the 16 qualifiers for the tournament from the ProTour Order of Merit, who join the top 16 from the world rankings in the field.

World Grand Prix and Premier League champion Michael van Gerwen, the 5/2 favourite with sponsors BetVictor, has been drawn against Colin Lloyd, who won the 2005 World Matchplay with an 18-12 defeat of John Part.

Part – a two-time runner-up – has drawn world number four James Wade, who was the 2007 champion and has also reached four finals in Blackpool since 2006 in a brilliant run.

Adrian Lewis, last weekend’s European Champion, has been drawn with Belgian debutant Ronny Huybrechts, whose brother Kim will face Peter Wright at the Winter Gardens.

Number five seed Simon Whitlock meets Dutchman Jelle Klaasen, with the winner to play either Kevin Painter or Jamie Lewis, the Welsh youngster who qualified by reaching the Gibraltar Darts Trophy final recently.

2010 runner-up Raymond van Barneveld has been drawn against Austrian debutant Mensur Suljovic, with the winner to take on either number nine seed Justin Pipe or Mark Webster.

Wes Newton, the number seven seed who hit a nine-darter at last year’s World Matchplay, takes on in-form Jamie Caven in the first round, with the winner to meet either Dave Chisnall or Paul Nicholson.

Andy Hamilton, twice a semi-finalist in Blackpool, meets Ronnie Baxter, with the winner to face either Robert Thornton or Ian White.

Two-time finalist Terry Jenkins has been paired with Andy Smith, with the winner meeting either Taylor or Kellett, while Mervyn King will take on Gary Anderson and Brendan Dolan faces Steve Beaton.

Tickets, priced from £20-£50 are available now by calling 0844 856 1111 and online via www.blackpoollive.co.uk, and can also be purchased throughwww.viagogo.co.uk. Hotel & Ticket packages can also be purchased throughwww.thomascooksport.com.

The schedule of play will be announced in due course.

BetVictor World Matchplay Field

PHIL TAYLOR will be the top seed as he begins his bid to win a 14th BetVictor World Matchplay title in Blackpool later this month, after the 32 qualifiers for the £400,000 event were confirmed.

The 20th staging of the World Matchplay will be held at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool from July 20-28, with 32 players competing across nine days to take the prestigious title.

The world’s top 16 players, following the completion of the European Championship last weekend, qualify by right for the BetVictor World Matchplay, alongside the top 16 qualifiers from the ProTour Order of Merit, based on prize money won in the PDC’s non-televised events this year.

The BetVictor World Matchplay draw will be made on Tuesday July 9, live on Sky Sports News at around 10.45am.

Reigning World Matchplay champion Taylor will be the top seed as he bids to win a record-extending 14th title in the event as well as a record-breaking sixth successive win – having been unbeaten in Blackpool since 2007.

Michael van Gerwen will be the number two seed, with European Champion Adrian Lewis the number three seed and James Wade seeded four as he bids to extend his brilliant World Matchplay record – having won the 2007 event and reached four other finals.

The ProTour Order of Merit qualifiers include 2005 World Matchplay champion Colin Lloyd, former finalists John Part and Ronnie Baxter and former Premier League Darts champion Gary Anderson.

Jamie Caven, a two-time Players Championship winner this year, is the leading ProTour Order of Merit qualifier, with Peter Wright, Paul Nicholson, Steve Beaton, Andy Smith, Ian White and Mark Webster also returning to Blackpool.

Stuart Kellett, Jamie Lewis, Ronny Huybrechts and Mensur Suljovic are in line for their World Matchplay debuts, while Jelle Klaasen was a quarter-finalist at the event in 2010 and returns following his form on the ProTour this year.

Tickets, priced from £20-£50 are available now by calling 0844 856 1111 and online via www.blackpoollive.co.uk, and can also be purchased through www.viagogo.co.uk.

Hotel & Ticket packages can also be purchased through www.thomascooksport.com.

Top 16 from PDC Order of Merit

1 Phil Taylor

2 Michael van Gerwen

3 Adrian Lewis

4 James Wade

5 Simon Whitlock

6 Andy Hamilton

7 Wes Newton

8 Raymond van Barneveld

9 Justin Pipe

10 Dave Chisnall

11 Robert Thornton

12 Kevin Painter

13 Mervyn King

14 Brendan Dolan

15 Kim Huybrechts

16 Terry Jenkins

Top 16 Non-Qualified Players from ProTour Order of Merit

Jamie Caven

Peter Wright

John Part

Stuart Kellett

Paul Nicholson

Gary Anderson

Ronnie Baxter

Colin Lloyd

Steve Beaton

Andy Smith

Ian White

Jelle Klaasen

Jamie Lewis

Ronny Huybrechts

Mensur Suljovic

Mark Webster

About The Author