JAMES WADE will open the defence of his Blue Square UK Open title against Peter Manley on Friday night, while Phil Taylor takes on debutant Lee Williams in ‘The FA Cup of Darts’.

Wade, who followed up last year’s Reebok Stadium triumph with victory in the Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts recently, faces three-time World Championship runner-up Manley in one of the pick of the third round games in Bolton.

World number one Taylor has drawn Manchester-based rookie Williams – who defeated experienced duo Alan Caves and Wayne Atwood in Thursday’s opening rounds – as he begins his challenge for a third UK Open win.

Raymond van Barneveld, the UK Open winner in 2006 and 2007, drew Middlesbrough’s Ken Dobson, who overcame local rival Paul Knighton 6-5 in round two.

Three-time World Champion John Part’s reward for a second round win over Mick McGowan in Thursday’s opening night was a clash with former World Matchplay champion Colin Lloyd.

Adrian Lewis faces Robert Thornton in another high-profile game, while in-form Mark Walsh drew Wayne Mardle.

Mardle had to come from 3-0 down to win against qualifier Les Fitton on his return from mumps before sealing a third round spot.

“I was disappointed with some of my performance but I got away with a win, and that’s all that mattered,” said Mardle. “I’m feeling better and I’m refreshed, and I feel good about my game.”

Australian number one Paul Nicholson celebrated a new look with a 6-4 win over Scottish star Gary Anderson in the biggest game of the opening night.

Nicholson sported a waistcoat and tie for the contest, and came from behind before sealing victory with a bullseye finish for a 132 checkout against Anderson.

“It’s a massive confidence boost for me,” said Nicholson. “This is possibly the biggest win of my career and I can go on from this.”

Six of the 31 amateur Holsten Qualifiers won through to the third round, including Salford’s Ken Mather and Telford’s Andy Roberts – who claimed the scalp of two former World Champions, Anastasia Dobromyslova and Steve Beaton.

Roberts now takes on Chorley newcomer Louis Blundell, while Swindon’s Johnny Haines drew Mark Dudbridge, Middlesbrough’s Glen Durrant meets world number six Terry Jenkins and Mather takes on Nicholson.

However, 2008 runner-up Gary Mawson failed in his bid to match that achievement when he lost in round two to Haines.

Roland Scholten, the 2004 champion who has been hampered for the past year by a shoulder problem, dropped just two legs in wins over Derek Williams and Ian Critchett.

Blue Square UK Open
Preliminary Round
Ken Mather 6-3 Gary Stephens

First Round
Alex Roy (ENG) 6-1 Richie Burnett (WAL)
Toon Greebe (NED) 6-3 James Barton (ENG)
Gary Welding (ENG) 6-2 John Kuczynski (USA)
Gary Mawson (USA) 6-1 Darren Weaver (ENG)
Dave Ladley (ENG) 6-5 Michael Smith (ENG)
Andy Boulton (ENG) 6-5 Darren Latham (ENG)
Andy Roberts (ENG) 6-2 Anastasia Dobromyslova (RUS)
Louis Blundell (ENG) 6-4 Ian Jopling (ENG)
Chris Cooper (ENG) 6-0 Harry Robinson (ENG)
Roland Scholten (NED) 6-1 Derek Williams (ENG)
John MaGowan (N IRE) 6-1 Dyson Parody (GIB)
Steve Dolan (ENG) 6-2 Phil Currie (ENG)
Stuart Bousfield (ENG) 6-1 Matthew Campbell (ENG)
Peter Wright (ENG) 6-4 Chris Hornby (ENG)
Les Fitton (ENG) 6-5 Mark Cox (ENG)
Johnny Haines (ENG) 6-5 Andy Pearce (ENG)
Chris Loudon (SCO) 6-5 Adrian Genery (ENG)
Ian Critchett (ENG) 6-5 Kevin Beare (ENG)
Glen Durrant (ENG) 6-3 Graham Usher (ENG)
Ken Mather (ENG) 6-4 Robbie Parker (ENG)
Dave Smith (ENG) 6-3 Duane Garfield (ENG)
Paul Cook (ENG) 6-2 Mike Langley (ENG)
Steve Evans (WAL) 6-3 Mark Layton (WAL)
Steve Grubb (ENG) 6-5 Par Riihonen (SWE)
Steve Penney (ENG) 6-3 Chris Mason (ENG)
John McGuirk (ENG) 6-2 Stuart Pickles (ENG)
Stephen Hardy (ENG) 6-2 Coen Wiekamp (ENG)
Paul Rowley (ENG) 6-5 David Fatum (USA)
Alan Davie (ENG) 6-3 Stuart Monaghan (ENG)
Lee Williams (ENG) 6-1 Alan Caves (ENG)
Mark Jodrill (ENG) 6-2 David Smurthwaite (ENG)
Justin Pipe (ENG) 6-1 Joe Cullen (ENG)

Second Round
John Part (CAN) 6-3 Mick McGowan (IRE)
Wayne Mardle (ENG) 6-4 Les Fitton (ENG)
Paul Nicholson (AUS) 6-4 Gary Anderson (SCO)
Andy Roberts (ENG) 6-2 Steve Beaton (ENG)
Steve Brown (ENG) 6-3 Kirk Shepherd (ENG)
Andy Smith (ENG) 6-1 Nick Fullwell (ENG)
Peter Wright (ENG) 6-2 Alan Davie (ENG)
Justin Pipe (ENG) 6-3 Tony Ayres (ENG)
Dave Honey (ENG) 6-4 Martyn Turner (ENG)
Jason Clark (SCO) 6-4 Stuart Bousfield (ENG)
Jan van der Rassel (NED) 6-3 Stephen Hardy (ENG)
Michael Barnard (ENG) 6-0 Steve Maish (ENG)
Alex Roy (ENG) 6-3 Matt Clark (ENG)
Tony Eccles (ENG) 6-3 Toon Greebe (NED)
Paul Rowley (ENG) 6-3 Dave Ladley (ENG)
Glen Durrant (ENG) 6-2 John McGuirk (ENG)
Ken Dobson (ENG) 6-5 Paul Knighton (ENG)
Gary Welding (ENG) 6-0 John MaGowan (N IRE)
Steve Grubb (ENG) 6-5 Steve Penney (ENG)
Colin Monk (ENG) 6-5 Larry Butler (USA)
Dave Honey (ENG) 6-5 Adrian Gray (ENG)
Roland Scholten (NED) 6-1 Ian Critchett (ENG)
Chris Thompson (ENG) 6-2 Mark Jodrill (ENG)
Louis Blundell (ENG) 6-0 Kevin Dowling (ENG)
Chris Cooper (ENG) 6-5 Chris Loudon (SCO)
Wes Newton (ENG) 6-4 Andy Boulton (ENG)
Denis Ovens (ENG) 6-2 Dave Smith (ENG)
Steve Dolan (ENG) 6-5 Steve Evans (WAL)
Mark Lawrence (ENG) Bye (Paul Cook Disqualified)
Lee Williams (ENG) 6-4 Wayne Atwood (WAL)
Johnny Haines (ENG) 6-4 Gary Mawson (USA)
Ken Mather (ENG) 6-1 Dennis Smith (ENG)

Third Round
Board One
Michael van Gerwen v Andy Hamilton
Adrian Lewis v Robert Thornton
Lee Williams v Phil Taylor
Peter Manley v James Wade

Board Two
Denis Ovens v Alan Tabern
Mark Walsh v Wayne Mardle
Colin Lloyd v John Part
Raymond van Barneveld v Ken Dobson

Board Three
Ronnie Baxter v Tony Eccles
Barrie Bates v Steve Grubb
Roland Scholten v Darren Johnson
Andy Roberts v Louis Blundell

Board Four
Gary Welding v Steve Hine
Ken Mather v Paul Nicholson
Kevin Painter v Dave Askew
Dennis Priestley v Colin Monk

Board Five
Mark Dudbridge v Johnny Haines
Co Stompe v Mark Frost
Dave Honey v Wes Newton
Mark Webster v Peter Wright

Board Six
Colin Osborne v Jason Clark
Alex Roy v Lionel Sams
Jan van der Rassel v Jelle Klaasen
Andy Smith v Chris Cooper

Board Seven
Steve Dolan v Jamie Caven
Andy Jenkins v Justin Pipe
Brendan Dolan v Kevin McDine
Mervyn King v Michael Barnard

Board Eight
Vincent van der Voort v Wayne Jones
Steve Brown v Mark Lawrence
Paul Rowley v Chris Thompson
Glen Durrant v Terry Jenkins

About The Author