Keegan Brown and Rowby-John Rodriguez will contest the 2014 PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Final on May 22, after winning through Saturday’s early rounds of the £50,000 event in Reading.

Isle of Wight-based Brown, a PDC Youth Tour winner in 2012 who has since claimed two wins over Phil Taylor on the PDC ProTour circuit, claimed arguably the best achievement of his career to date as he came through the Last 64.

After overcoming Shaun Lovett 6-2 in the first round, he produced a superb display to whitewash Australia’s Robbie King in the Last 32, before defeating Dutch youngster Ryan De Vreede 6-2 to reach the quarter-finals.

He then knocked out number one seed Adam Hunt with a 6-3 win before securing his spot in next month’s final with a 6-2 defeat of top Dutch ace Dirk van Duijvenbode.

“It’s a massive day for me, a life-changer,” admitted Brown. “I’ve been practising for four hours a day since Christmas Day, and this was the day I wanted the practice to pay off so thankfully it did.

“As much as I had scorelines of 6-2, 6-1 or 6-0, it was almost too tough at times! I played a very good Australian in Robbie King, every time I play Adam Hunt it’s always a good game, and the scoreline against Dirk probably didn’t reflect the game so I was glad to get the results.

“I’m so happy to be at The O2, and also in the Grand Slam of Darts, and hopefully I can win and get the place in the World Championship too.

“I’m only 21 so it would be nice to put my name on this trophy alongside the likes of Arron Monk, James Hubbard and Michael Smith, who’ve come through the Youth Tour system.”

Brown’s opponent on stage at The O2 in London – with the final being held on the same evening as the Betway Premier League Darts Play-Offs on May 22 – will be emerging Austrian Rowby-John Rodriguez.

Rodriguez, who turned 20 last month, was a winner on the PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour last year and won a Tour Card in January before joining Brown in qualifying for the Coral UK Open last month.

However, he will also enjoy the biggest day of his career when he competes at The O2.

The number two seed knocked out John Seagrave 6-1 in the first round before whitewashing Tom Sykes, and he then defeated Ben Songhurst 6-3 and Dean Reynolds 6-2 to reach his decider against Kurt Parry, which he won 6-3.

“I have no words to describe how I feel – this is my dream and it’s come true. To be on the big stage is a dream for me,” said an overwhelmed Rodriguez. “It’s a big step for me.

“I couldn’t sleep last night because I was so nervous and I just wanted to come here and play my own game, and it happened for me. It’s unbelievable.

“Both myself and Keegan know that we can play good darts, and the best player on the day will win. I’ll keep practising now and we’ll see what happens next month.”

As well as succeeding Michael Smith as the PDC Unicorn World Youth Champion, the winner of May’s final will also qualify for the PDC World Championship at Alexandra Palace.

Both players will also now compete in the 2014 Grand Slam of Darts in Wolverhampton.

Welsh ace Parry – who hit a nine-darter during last year’s World Youth Championship – had defeated Andrew Ryan, Lewis Venes, Cain Unwin and Reece Robinson on the day, and took home £2,500 to soften the blow of his semi-final defeat.

Van Duijvenbode also took home £2,500, having enjoyed wins over Samuel Fuller, Arron Fairweather, Brandon Walsh and Jack Tweddell before losing out to Brown.

Top seed Hunt was joined by Tweddell, Robinson and Reynolds in losing out in the quarter-finals, where they each won £1,500, while Dutch trio Kevin Voornhout, Ryan De Vreede and Jimmy Hendriks all reached the last 16, alongside Belgian youngster Dimitri Van Den Bergh.

2014 PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Results

Last 64 – Rivermead Centre, Reading
Saturday April 5
First Round
Adam Hunt (1) 6-1 Aden Kirk
Shaun Littler 6-2 Lewis Hackett
Sam Hill 6-5 Adam Smith-Neale
Kevin Voornhout 6-4 Sion Thomas
Ryan De Vreede 6-5 Max Hopp (8)
James Young 6-5 Stephen Lennon
Robbie King 6-2 Jake Jones
Keegan Brown 6-2 Shaun Lovett
Dirk van Duijvenbode (5) 6-4 Samuel Fuller
Arron Fairweather 6-1 Fredi Gsellmann
Brandon Walsh 6-4 Sean Ryan
George Killington 6-4 Ryan Hogarth
Josh Payne (4) 6-4 Matthew Dicken
Tyson Hoefel 6-0 Vincenzo Masciarelli
Jack Tweddell 6-3 Aaron Knox
Shaun Narain 6-3 Dan Dean
Rowby-John Rodriguez (2) 6-1 John Seagrave
Tom Sykes 6-4 Eric Pedley
Jake Patchett 6-0 Amit Gilitwala
Ben Songhurst 6-4 Dan Read
Jimmy Hendriks 6-4 Benito van de Pas (7)
Rees Hall 6-5 Anthony West
Dean Reynolds 6-2 Lee Whitworth
Mike Zuydwijk 6-3 Dan Lauby II
Reece Robinson (6) 6-3 Rhys Hayden
Martin Schindler 6-1 Curtis Turner
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 6-5 Paddy Meaney
Nicholas Day 6-2 Sam Head
Kurt Parry (3) 6-2 Andrew Ryan
Lewis Venes 6-5 Dean Finn
Justin Webers 6-5 John De Kruijf
Cain Unwin 6-5 James Thompson
Losers £250

Second Round
Adam Hunt 6-3 Shaun Littler
Kevin Voornhout 6-2 Sam Hill
Ryan De Vreede 6-5 James Young
Keegan Brown 6-0 Robbie King
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Arron Fairweather
Brandon Walsh 6-4 George Killington
Josh Payne 6-2 Tyson Hoefel
Jack Tweddell 6-2 Shaun Narain
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-0 Tom Sykes
Ben Songhurst 6-5 Jake Patchett
Jimmy Hendriks 6-2 Rees Hall
Dean Reynolds 6-5 Mike Zuydwijk
Reece Robinson 6-4 Martin Schindler
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 6-1 Nicholas Day
Kurt Parry 6-1 Lewis Venes
Cain Unwin 6-1 Justin Webers
Losers £500

Third Round
Adam Hunt 6-4 Kevin Voornhout
Keegan Brown 6-2 Ryan De Vreede
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Brandon Walsh
Jack Tweddell 6-4 Josh Payne
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 Ben Songhurst
Dean Reynolds 6-3 Jimmy Hendriks
Reece Robinson 6-3 Dimitri Van Den Bergh
Kurt Parry 6-4 Cain Unwin
Losers £1,000

Keegan Brown 6-3 Adam Hunt
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Jack Tweddell
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Dean Reynolds
Kurt Parry 6-3 Reece Robinson
Losers £1,500

Keegan Brown 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 Kurt Parry
Losers £2,500

Keegan Brown v Rowby-John Rodriguez
To be played on Thursday May 22 at The O2, London
Winner £10,000 plus place in 2015 PDC World Championship plus place in 2014 Grand Slam of Darts
Runner-Up £5,000 plus place in 2014 Grand Slam of Darts