GARY ANDERSON claimed victory in Group One of the 2011 Championship League Darts, defeating Wes Newton 6-1 in the final at Crondon Park after the Fleetwood ace picked up his first-ever win over Phil Taylor.

Anderson will now return for October’s big-money Winners Group in the internet-streamed event, which sees players compete in eight-man groups in a round-robin league phase before the top four contest each day’s Play-Offs.

Taylor – the 2008 Championship League Darts winner – had gone through the Group One league phase unbeaten but saw his hopes of early progression shattered by a brilliant Newton display in the semi-finals.

The Fleetwood ace, who has risen to seventh in the world this year and also reached June’s UK Open final, finished fourth in the table and led 2-0 against Taylor early on in their clash.

The world number one hit back with finishes of 131 and 108 to level and also took out 121 to lead 5-4 – only to miss the bull for a 164 finish which would have secured victory.

Newton landed double three to force a deciding leg, and with Taylor waiting on 106 he took out a stunning 140 checkout for a 12-darter which gave him his first career victory over Taylor.

Newton’s dream of following that win by claiming the Group One title, though, was shattered by Anderson as the Scot followed up an excellent 6-4 comeback defeat of Simon Whitlock in the semis with a 6-1 triumph.

He opened the final with a 98 finish and also added an 81 checkout in taking the first four legs without reply.

Newton hit double three to get off the mark in the sixth, but a showpiece 96 of single 20, double 18 and double top gave Anderson a 5-1 advantage before he secured victory on double 12.

“I’m really happy with that,” said Anderson. “This is a very tough competition and today there were eight of the world’s top ten players, so to get through that and into the Winners Group is a huge achievement.

“I was pleased with how I played all the way through and only Phil defeated me in the league games, but to finish like I did against Simon and Wes is great.

“I’m going to have a few days at home now to prepare for the World Grand Prix and it would be fantastic to take this form over to Dublin next week!”

Newton admitted: “I meant a lot to me to defeat Phil because I’ve been a professional for ten years and never done it before, but it was hard to stay focussed for the final after that.

“Gary deserved to win the final and it’s up to me to knuckle down again on Wednesday and try to win Group Two.”

Newton, Taylor and Whitlock will now return to Crondon Park on Wednesday for Group Three, which will also feature left-handers Mark Webster and James Wade, who missed out on Tuesday’s semis.

However, World Champion Adrian Lewis and seven-time major finalist Terry Jenkins were eliminated from the event after finishing in the bottom two.

The pair both lost their opening six matches before Lewis whitewashed Jenkins in the final round of games to claim his only win of the day.

Wednesday’s Group Two will also feature Paul Nicholson, Andy Hamilton and Mervyn King, who will join the survivors from Group One in competing for a Winners Group spot.

Championship League Darts is screened solely on the internet through LIVEPDC.TV and a series of 30 bookmakers’ websites worldwide, and offers a potential total prize fund of over £200,000, plus places in the Grand Slam of Darts for the eventual finalists.

Played over nine days from September 27-29, October 11-13 and October 18-20, the event offers £50 per leg won prize money in the league phase and £100 per leg won in each group’s Play-Offs, with prize money doubled in the Winners Group.


Board One Board Two
Phil Taylor 6-3 Adrian Lewis Mark Webster 6-1 Terry Jenkins
Simon Whitlock 6-5 Wes Newton James Wade 2-6 Gary Anderson
Terry Jenkins 2-6 Phil Taylor Adrian Lewis 5-6 Mark Webster
Gary Anderson 6-5 Simon Whitlock Wes Newton 6-4 James Wade
Terry Jenkins 5-6 James Wade Phil Taylor 6-3 Wes Newton
Gary Anderson 6-5 Mark Webster Adrian Lewis 3-6 Simon Whitlock
James Wade 2-6 Phil Taylor Terry Jenkins 5-6 Wes Newton
Adrian Lewis 2-6 Gary Anderson Mark Webster 1-6 Simon Whitlock
Mark Webster 6-3 James Wade Simon Whitlock 3-6 Phil Taylor
Wes Newton 6-2 Adrian Lewis Gary Anderson 6-5 Terry Jenkins
Simon Whitlock 6-1 ! Terry Jenkins Adrian Lewis 4-6 James Wade
Wes Newton 6-4 Mark Webster Phil Taylor 6-2 Gary Anderson
Gary Anderson 6-5 Wes Newton James Wade 1-6 Simon Whitlock
Mark Webster 1-6 Phil Taylor Terry Jenkins 0-6 Adrian Lewis
Phil Taylor 5-6 Wes Newton Gary Anderson 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Wes Newton 1-6 Gary Anderson  


  Pl W L Won Lost Leg +/- £Won Pts Total £
Phil Taylor 7 7 0 42 16 +26 £2100 14 £2600
Gary Anderson 7 6 1 38 30 +8 £1900 12 £3100
Simon Whitlock 7 5 2 38 23 +15 £1900 10 £2300
Wes Newton 7 4 3 37 33 +4 £1850 8 £2550
Mark Webster 7 3 4 29 33 -4 £1450 6  
James Wade 7 2 5! 24 39 -15 £1200 4  
Adrian Lewis 7 1 6 25 36 -11 £1250 2  
Terry Jenkins 7 0 7 19 42 -23 £950 0  

About The Author