The PDC US Open is the successor to the ill-fated World Series of Darts which only ran for one year in 2006 and failed to be a success. The US Open was staged at the same venue as the WSOD – The Mohegan Sun Casino in Connecticut and has been won both times by Phil Taylor who also won the WSOD, effectively completing a ‘US Treble’.

The WSOD was re-badged as the 2007 US Open to give it a different format and ‘open’ the tournament up to non-PDC players. The hope was that BDO players could be encouraged to travel and compete, however a hastily arranged Dutch Premier League was arranged tying up any big name BDO stars. The irony was that the DPL never came to fruition due to lack of interest from the Dutch public.

The US Open was held again in 2008 with Nuts TV screening highlight and live action programs. Nuts TV took over from Challenge TV who screened the event in 2007 to mixed reception by the viewing public. The field for the 2008 tournament was a whopping 258 entrants.

US Open Roll Of Honour