The World Darts Trophy was first contested in 2002 by WDF & BDO affiliated players and originally formed one leg of the BDO Grand Slam. Tony David was the first winner, followed by Raymond van Barneveld who took the next two title in 2003 and 2004.

In 2006, PDC players were invited into the tournament for the first time and Phil Taylor, Colin Lloyd, Ronnie Baxter, Peter Manley and Raymond van Barneveld all participated. Phil Taylor ran out the winner, beating Martin Adams in the final.

In 2007 Gary Anderson swept all before him as he took the title away from Taylor, blitzing him 7-3 in the final. 2007 saw the PDC participation increase to 16 players with the top 12 ranked joined by 4 wildcards.

2008 saw the WDT bite the dust amid controversy and dispute. Barry Hearn set up the Grand Slam of Dartsin 2007 and announced that no PDC players would compete in the 2008 WDT or International Darts LeagueOn the back of this SBS6 pulled the plug and the BDO went to court claiming a contract until 2010 was in place for the tournament to go ahead on SBS6. The case and appeal were both lost and the tournament it would seem is no more.

The WDT has two sponsors – Bavaria from 2004 to 2006 and Bullit in 2007. It was broadcast on SBS6 in Holland but was not broadcast in the UK.

World Darts Trophy Roll Of Honour