Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters Results

The top eight players from the PDC Order of Merit (as of Jan 2013) locked horns over the last two days to contest the inaugural Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters at the Dubai Tennis Centre.

Dubai Duty Free Darts MastersThe $250k outdoor event, hoped to be the catalyst for a World Series saw the players having to adjust to both the heat and the occasional gust of wind (despite a curtained stage) in their quest to globalise the sport of darts.

Michael van Gerwen became the first man to claim the Trophy and $50,000 winners cheque following an 11-7 victory over fellow Dutchman Raymond van Barneveld, adding to his haul of the Premier League and European Darts Open titles over the past couple of weeks.

A 170 checkout facilitated an early 2-1 lead for the younger man, but van Barneveld kept in touch – a 121 finish levelling the game at 6 legs each. Van Gerwen though found another gear, a 164 checkout secured the next leg to restore his advantage.

Barney had no reply and registered just one more leg in the contest, as MvG went on to win 4 of the last 5 including contributions of 11 and 13 dart legs, finally claiming victory on double 12.

Five-time World Champion van Barneveld had earlier booked his place in the final with a comfortable 11-5 semi-final win over James Wade, although neither player produced their best form, with Wade in particular achieving just 20% success on his doubles.

Van Gerwen then defeated Andy Hamilton 11-9 in a high quality game which saw both men average over 97. Mighty Mike came from 9-8 behind to win the final three legs to set-up the clash with Barney.

Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters Results

Final Results

Michael van Gerwen 11 v 7 Raymond van Barneveld

Final Statistics

Michael van Gerwen – Ave 104.21, 100+ x 20, 140+ x 13, 180 x 4, High Out = 170, Checkout % = 55.56

Raymond van Barneveld – Ave 99.23, 100+ x 23 , 140+ x 11, 180 x 2, High Out = 124, Checkout % = 46.15

Semi-Final Results

James Wade 5 v 11 Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen 11 v 9 Andy Hamilton

Quarter-Final Results

James Wade (3) 10 v 8 Simon Whitlock
Adrian Lewis (2) 6 v 10 Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen (4) 10 v 7 Wes Newton
Phil Taylor (1) 8 v 10 Andy Hamilton

Thursday night’s quarter-final fixtures saw a disgruntled Phil Taylor eliminated by an 8-10 scoreline, as fellow Stoke thrower Andy Hamilton notched up a 4th career win over the 16 times World Champion. Whether it was the conditions or crowd or both, The Power was unhappy, barely managing to shake his opponent’s hand post match.

Other quarter final casualties were Adrian Lewis,  Simon Whitlock and Wes Newton – who despite racing to a 5-1 lead eventually lost out 10-7 to van Gerwen. Whitlock had also led for much of his encounter with Wade but at 7-8 behind The Machine dug in with checkouts of 110 and 149 to edge in front and went on to seal victory in the next leg. Lewis meanwhile was dumped out 10-6 by eventual runner-up van Barneveld.


About The Author