Here is something for the anoraks and/or those who enjoy the gee gees!

World Darts Championship

The Sid Waddell Trophy – Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The World Darts Championship Trophy, now called The Sid Waddell Trophy in memory of the legendary commentator, will be on display this Saturday (19th October) at Ascot racecourse as part of QIPCO British Champions Day, the richest raceday in Britain.

Also on display will be The FA Cup, The Ashes urn, the Rugby League Challenge Cup and a host of other sporting trophies at a special one-day exhibition in Ascot’s grandstand.

This one-day public display aims to celebrate many of the most significant achievements in British sport, both recent and historical, on a day when British horseracing decides its champions of the season.

The last time so many national sporting trophies were displayed together was over half a century ago at an exhibition in April 1956 at the Café Anglais, London.

Also on display will be:

  • The Jules Rimet Replica Cup won by England at the World Cup in 1966
  • The FA Cup won by Wigan Athletic
  • The Calcutta Cup won by England
  • The Rugby League Challenge Cup won by Wigan
  • The Ryder Cup won by Europe in Medinah, America
  • The Senior TT Trophy won by John McGuinness
  • The Champion Jump Jockey Trophy won by AP McCoy, plus his BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award
  • The Champion Flat Jockey Trophy, won last year by current Championship leader Richard Hughes.
  • The Champion Racehorse Trainer Trophies for the Flat and Jumps won in 2012 and 2013 by John Gosden and Nicky Henderson
  • Michael Owen’s European Player of the year Award – the Ballon D’Or – won in 2001, along with his Premier League Golden Boot awards and The FA Cup, League Cup and UEFA Cup medals.
  • Nine of the most famous trophies won by Frankel during his unbeaten career, along with his Cartier Horse of the Year Awards
  • The silver salver to be presented to the winner of the 2013 £1.3 million QIPCO Champion Stakes

Security arrangements for the exhibition are under wraps as the trophies on display are so valuable. This has required specialist insurance cover arranged by leading private client broker Weatherbys Hamilton.

To buy tickets to QIPCO British Champions Day on Saturday 19th October at Ascot Racecourse visit

The QIPCO British Champions Series is designed to throw the spotlight on Britain’s best Flat races and will climax on 19th October 2013 with the richest fixture in British racing history, the QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot where £3.4 million in prize money is on offer.

The Series features 35 Flat races staged at ten of the UK’s leading racecourses: Ascot, Doncaster, Epsom Downs, Goodwood, Haydock Park, Newbury, Newmarket’s July Course, Newmarket’s Rowley Mile, Sandown Park and York.

It encompasses the top races at British racing’s key festivals, including the QIPCO Guineas Festival at Newmarket, the Investec Derby Festival at Epsom, Royal Ascot, the Newmarket July Festival, Glorious Goodwood, the Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival at York and the Ladbrokes St Leger Festival at Doncaster.

The QIPCO British Champions Series comprises five easy-to-follow champion categories – Sprint, Mile, Middle Distance, Long Distance and Fillies & Mares. The seven highest-rated races feature in each category, including a same-day finale in each on QIPCO British Champions Day.

About The Author