DEAN WINSTANLEY made a remarkable comeback to defeat Mark Walsh 6-5 in the opening session of the German Darts Championship in Berlin, while Justin Pipe produced a top-drawer display to defeat Michael van Gerwen at the Tempodrom.

A high-quality Friday afternoon of darts saw Yorkshireman Winstanley, an emerging face in the PDC after winning a Tour Card in January, showed his class.

Winstanley trailed 5-2 but clawed his way back level as Walsh failed to close out victory, and when the Hertfordshire ace missed give darts for victory in the deciding leg he stepped in to finish tops to sneak through.

Vincent van der Voort came from 5-1 down to claim a remarkable 6-5 win over Jim Walker, another new face on the PDC circuit in 2012 who was just edged out as the Dutchman followed up an 11-darter by winning the game with a 14-dart leg in the decider.

Justin Pipe came from 2-0 down to win 6-4 against Michael van Gerwen, avenging his loss to the young Dutchman in a Players Championship last weekend with a 102.82 average.

Mark Webster and Dave Chisnall also topped 100 averages in their wins over Darren Webster and Gareth Cousins respectively, while Wayne Jones defied an 11-dart finish from Croatian Zdravko Antunovic in his 6-2 victory.

Co Stompe was a 6-2 winner against youngster Sam Hill, while Wes Newton and Mervyn King were the other winners on the main stage in their clashes with William O’Connor and Peter Hudson.

Andy Smith hit back from 4-1 down to win 6-5 against Mick Todd, while Peter Wright also had to fight from behind after finding himself 4-2 down against Prakash Jiwa before claiming an 11-leg victory.

Steve Brown and Colin Osborne progressed past Steve Evans and Darren Johnson, while Alan Tabern won in a deciding leg against Dutch newcomer Leon De Geus.

Hull youngster Reece Robinson pulled off a shock win over former World Champion Richie Burnett, and his reward for the 6-2 triumph could be a second round clash with world number one Phil Taylor, who plays his opening game against Jerry Hendriks in the evening session.

Scunthorpe’s Dave Ladley also produced an upset with a 6-3 win over recent Speedy Services UK Open semi-finalist Denis Ovens, and now meets Kevin Painter in the second round after the Daventry star received a bye following Keegan Brown’s withdrawal.

Friday’s evening session will also feature a mouth-watering clash between the current respective World Champion and World Youth Champion, as Adrian Lewis plays James Hubbard, while Raymond van Barneveld plays Mareno Michels in an all-Dutch affair and James Wade meets Austrian Mensur Suljovic.

German Darts Championship
European Tour Event Two
Friday June 22
First Round

Afternoon Session
Main Stage
Mark Webster 6-4 Darren Webster
Co Stompe 6-2 Sam Hill
Wayne Jones 6-2 Zdravko Antunovic
Mervyn King 6-3 Peter Hudson
Mark Walsh 5-6 Dean Winstanley
Wes Newton 6-4 William O’Connor
Justin Pipe 6-4 Michael van Gerwen
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Gareth Cousins

Stage Two
Richie Burnett 2-6 Reece Robinson
Alan Tabern 6-5 Leon De Geus
Colin Osborne 6-2 Darren Johnson
Steve Brown 6-3 Steve Evans
Andy Smith 6-5 Mick Todd
Peter Wright 6-5 Prakash Jiwa
Denis Ovens 3-6 Dave Ladley
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Jim Walker

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Main Stage
Paul Nicholson v Andree Welge
John Part v Bernd Roith
Simon Whitlock v Daniel Starkey
Andy Hamilton v Michael Rosenauer
Raymond van Barneveld v Mareno Michels
Phil Taylor v Jerry Hendriks
Adrian Lewis v James Hubbard
James Wade v Mensur Suljovic

Stage Two
Colin Lloyd v Alex Roy
Jamie Caven v Michael Mansell
Terry Jenkins v Magnus Caris
Brendan Dolan v Kevin Munch
Kevin Painter Bye (Keegan Brown withdrawn)
Steve Beaton v Kim Huybrechts
Ronnie Baxter v Andy Jenkins
Gary Anderson v Michael Barnard

About The Author