Phil Taylor defeats Vos & All Four Gibraltan Qualifiers Are Dumped Out

World Champion Taylor kicked off the Gibraltar Darts Trophy – the first PDC event held in Gibraltar for three years, with a sublime display as he averaged 115.31 and hit four 11-dart legs against Vos.

Gibraltar Darts TrophyThe young Dutchman actually won the game’s opening leg, but could not answer a five-leg barrage from Taylor, who also missed four match darts in the game’s seventh leg.

Vos took out 89 in two darts to keep his hopes alive, but Taylor hit a fourth 180 of the game as he completed a quartet of 11-dart finishes as he sealed the win.

“I’m very happy with that,” said Taylor. “The crowd created a great atmosphere and we both fed off that, and it’s a good start for me. I can probably improve a bit with my doubles but it was a good win.”

Taylor now takes on Dean Winstanley in Saturday’s second round, with the Yorkshireman coming from 4-1 and 5-4 down to defeat Mark Walsh in a deciding leg in their opener.

Michael van Gerwen, the winner of the two most recent European Tour events, began his bid for a hat-trick with a 6-2 win over John Bowles, who had shared the game’s opening four legs before being blown away as the Dutchman hit legs of 11 and 12 darts to pull clear.

Van Gerwen will face Scott Rand in the second round, with the Coventry ace overcoming Jim Walker 6-4 earlier on Friday.

Simon Whitlock, the tournament’s number two seed, was the biggest casualty on the opening day as he lost 6-3 to Connie Finnan, despite the Australian hitting a 156 checkout during the contest.

World number three Adrian Lewis narrowly avoided an upset against Northern Ireland’s Michael Mansell, who took the Stoke thrower all the way to a deciding leg.

Austria’s Mensur Suljovic knocked out number five seed Wes Newton in another 11-leg thriller, while Paul Nicholson earlier hit a 13-dart finish to win the deciding leg of his first round clash with Joe Cullen, who had led 4-1 at one stage.

Home hopes in the tournament, though, were ended on Friday as all four Gibraltan qualifiers were defeated.

George Federico shared the opening four legs of his clash with Steve Beaton before going down 6-2, while Dyson Parody opened his game against Andy Hamilton with a 180 before losing 6-3.

Dave Chisnall turned on the style with a classy whitewash of Manuel Vilerio, hitting five 180s and a 128 finish, while Gary Anderson also picked up a 6-0 win as he swept past Dylan Duo in only 12 minutes.

World number four James Wade impressed with a 101 average in his 6-3 win over Joe Murnan, who hit a pair of ton-plus finishes in defeat, while a 161 checkout was not enough for Peter Hudson as he went down 6-2 to a fine Kim Huybrechts performance.

Huybrechts now plays Richie Burnett in the second round, after the Welshman won the battle of former Lakeside Champions with Jelle Klaasen 6-3.

In-form Peter Wright, a Players Championship winner last weekend, whitewashed Mark Hylton and now plays Paul Amos, who upset the odds with a 6-4 win over Mark Webster.

Emerging Kent ace Josh Payne also produced an upset as he defeated Wayne Jones 6-2 to progress to a meeting with Chisnall, while Welsh youngster Jamie Lewis saw off Colin Osborne 6-4 and now plays Robert Thornton, who was a 6-4 winner against Walsall university student Matthew Dennant.

John Henderson knocked out Mervyn King 6-4 and now plays Justin Pipe, the world number ten who averaged 100 in his 6-2 win over Steve Maish.

Kevin Painter’s 6-3 win over Ronny Huybrechts sets him up for a second round game with Suljovic, while Colin Lloyd was a 6-2 winner against Vincent van der Voort as he progresses to face Finland’s Jani Haavisto, who was a 6-4 winner against Stuart Kellett.

Ian White and Jamie Caven will now meet in the second round after they overcame Kevin McDine and Leo Hendriks, while Ronnie Baxter’s 6-1 win over Matthew Edgar means he now plays Wade in the last 32.

Steve Brown hit six doubles from eight attempts in his 6-4 win over Brendan Dolan, and he now plays Nicholson, while three-time World Champion John Part’s victory over Nigel Heydon by the same scoreline sees him progress to meet Leon De Geus, the Dutch qualifier who defeated Arron Monk 6-3.

The second round of the £100,000 Gibraltar Darts Trophy will be played across two sessions on Saturday, with the third round to be held on Sunday afternoon before the event concludes with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final on Sunday evening.

The tournament is being streamed live online through the www.LIVEPDC.TV website and

Gibraltar Darts Trophy First Round Results

European Tour Event Five
Friday June 28

First Round Afternoon Session
Main Stage
Mervyn King 4-6 John Henderson
Ian White 6-3 Kevin McDine
Steve Beaton 6-2 George Federico
Paul Nicholson 6-5 Joe Cullen
Robert Thornton 6-4 Matthew Dennant
Kevin Painter 6-3 Ronny Huybrechts
Colin Lloyd 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Andy Smith 3-6 Ross Smith
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Manuel Vilerio

Stage Two
Scott Rand 6-4 Jim Walker
Stuart Kellett 4-6 Jani Haavisto
Jamie Caven 6-2 Leo Hendriks
Arron Monk 3-6 Leon De Geus
Brendan Dolan 4-6 Steve Brown
John Part 6-4 Nigel Heydon
Mark Webster 4-6 Paul Amos

Evening Session
Main Stage
Simon Whitlock 3-6 Connie Finnan
James Wade 6-3 Joe Murnan
Wes Newton 5-6 Mensur Suljovic
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Michael Mansell
Phil Taylor 6-2 Gino Vos
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Dyson Parody
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 John Bowles
Gary Anderson 6-0 Dylan Duo

Stage Two
Ronnie Baxter 6-1 Matthew Edgar
Colin Osborne 4-6 Jamie Lewis
Justin Pipe 6-2 Steve Maish
Mark Walsh 5-6 Dean Winstanley
Wayne Jones 2-6 Josh Payne
Peter Wright 6-0 Mark Hylton
Richie Burnett 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Peter Hudson

Saturday June 29
Second Round Schedule of play
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm)
John Part v Leon De Geus
Peter Wright v Paul Amos
Robert Thornton v Jamie Lewis
John Henderson v Justin Pipe
Jani Haavisto v Colin Lloyd
Paul Nicholson v Steve Brown
Ian White v Jamie Caven
Dave Chisnall v Josh Payne

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Adrian Lewis v Ross Smith
Mensur Suljovic v Kevin Painter
Ronnie Baxter v James Wade
Michael van Gerwen v Scott Rand
Connie Finnan v Steve Beaton
Phil Taylor v Dean Winstanley
Kim Huybrechts v Richie Burnett
Andy Hamilton v Gary Anderson

About The Author