MICHAEL VAN GERWEN claimed his first PDC title for two years with a 6-4 victory over Vincent van der Voort in the final of the Taunton Players Championship.

The Dutchman, who turns 20 in a fortnight, followed up a win in the 2007 Open Holland with a maiden £6,000 PDC Pro Tour win.

In arguably his most consistent showing since moving onto the PDC circuit two years ago, the teenager battled through the field at the Wellsprings Leisure Centre to take victory.

He knocked out former World Matchplay champion Larry Butler in the first round, and then saw off Mark Jodrill, Mark Frost and Darren Latham.

Robert Thornton was defeated 6-2 in the quarter-finals, before he overcame Colin Osborne 6-3 in the last four.

He allowed van der Voort to lead 1-0 and 3-2 against the darts on the final, but three misses from the more experienced player proved crucial in leg six.

Van Gerwen levelled, and then traded 180s in the next before a 77 finish put him 4-3 up.

He then took out 112 to lead 5-3 and wrapped up the victory with a 13-dart leg.

“I’m very happy,” said van Gerwen. “I’ve worked hard for a long time and it’s very important for me.

“It will move me up the Order of Merit and also puts me into tournaments like the World Matchplay and the World Grand Prix, which I haven’t played in before.”

Van der Voort knocked out in-form Mark Walsh to reach the final, having seen off Mervyn King 6-0 in the quarter-finals.

Walsh’s run saw him reach a fifth semi-final in the last four weekends, while Osborne was in the last eight for the third successive event.

World number two James Wade was an early casualty, losing to Martyn Turner in round two, while Terry Jenkins also fell in the last 64, losing in a deciding leg to Mark Frost.

Gary Anderson, who was the runner-up in both Players Championships last weekend in Holland, was a second round loser to Thornton in an all-Scottish battle.

Players Championship (Taunton)
First Round
Dennis Priestley (1) Bye
Lee Holden 6-3 Dave Honey
Barrie Bates (32) 6-1 Geoff Wylie
Steve Hine 6-1 Dave Ahmet
Steve Beaton (16) 6-2 Colin Monk
Sean Palfrey 6-3 Andy Relf
Vincent van der Voort (17) 6-4 Kevin Harris
Lee Williams 6-5 Paul Knighton
James Wade (8) 6-5 Stephen Hard
Martyn Turner 6-5 Michael Smith
Matt Clark (25) 6-0 Steve Perkins
Toon Greebe 6-1 Steve Perry
Mervyn King (9) 6-2 Dyson Parody
Roland Scholten 6-1 Jim Leighton
Dave Ladley 6-3 Tony Eccles (24)
Lionel Sams 6-2 Chris Daglish
Mark Walsh (5) Bye
Alan Caves 6-2 Shaun Dring
Jelle Klaasen (28) 6-3 Chris Allen
Ken Dobson 6-5 Nick Fullwell
Denis Ovens (12) 6-2 Richie Burnett
Darren Johnson 6-5 Stuart Holden
Andy Jenkins (21) 6-2 Arron Monk
Ricky Williams 6-1 Andy Fordham
Ronnie Baxter (4) Bye
Wayne Atwood 6-3 John Kuczynski
Wes Newton (29) 6-1 Ian Lever
Dennis Smith 6-5 Michael Barnard
Andy Hamilton (13) 6-4 Mick McGowan
John Part 6-5 Adrian Gray
Alex Roy (20) 6-1 Chris Cooper
Gary Welding 6-4 John Quantock
Alan Tabern (2) Bye
Jim Withers 6-2 Mickey Booth
Kevin McDine (31) 6-3 Ian Lilley
Co Stompe 6-3 Kevin Dowling
Adrian Lewis (15) 6-5 Mark Webster
Steve Musson 6-4 Bryan de Hoog
Wayne Jones (18) 6-2 Geoff Whitworth
Par Riihonen 6-0 Jon Archer
Colin Osborne (7) Bye
Jason Clark 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Steve Maish (26) 6-0 Ian Perkins
Stuart Dutton 6-4 Dylan Duo
Colin Lloyd (10) 6-2 Ben Burton
Peter Wright 6-4 Dave Smith
Jamie Caven (23) 6-1 Gary Miles
Tony Ayres 6-4 Steve Grubb
Terry Jenkins (6) Bye
Mark Frost 6-2 Robbie Newland
Michael van Gerwen (27) 6-2 Larry Butler
Mark Jodrill 6-3 Chris Loudon
Mark Dudbridge (11) 6-2 Robert Alford
Jan van der Rassel 6-3 Ian Jopling
Louis Blundell 6-4 Peter Manley (22)
Darren Latham 6-5 Russell Mason
Robert Thornton (3) Bye
Gary Blades 6-1 Mark Tiller
Gary Anderson (30) 6-1 Steve Brown
Dennis Zijderhand 6-5 Jonathan Overton
Kevin Painter (14) 6-3 David Platt
Brendan Dolan 6-2 John MaGowan
Andy Smith (19) 6-1 Stuart Bousfield
Anastasia Dobromyslova 6-1 Norman Fletcher

Second Round
Dennis Priestley 6-1 Lee Holden
Steve Hine 6-5 Barrie Bates
Sean Palfrey 6-3 Steve Beaton
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Lee Williams
Martyn Turner 6-4 James Wade
Toon Greebe 6-2 Matt Clark
Mervyn King 6-4 Roland Scholten
Lionel Sams 6-4 Dave Ladley
Mark Walsh 6-0 Alan Caves
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Ken Dobson
Denis Ovens 6-3 Darren Johnson
Ricky Williams 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Ronnie Baxter 6-1 Wayne Atwood
Dennis Smith 6-3 Wes Newton
John Part 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Alex Roy 6-1 Gary Welding
Alan Tabern 6-0 Jim Withers
Co Stompe 6-4 Kevin McDine
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Steve Musson
Wayne Jones 6-4 Par Riihonen
Colin Osborne 6-0 Jason Clark
Stuart Dutton 6-5 Steve Maish
Peter Wright 6-3 Colin Lloyd
Jamie Caven 6-5 Tony Ayres
Mark Frost 6-5 Terry Jenkins
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Mark Jodrill.
Jan van der Rassel 6-5 Mark Dudbridge
Darren Latham 6-4 Louis Blundell
Robert Thornton 6-1 Gary Blades
Gary Anderson 6-5 Dennis Zijderhand
Kevin Painter 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Andy Smith 6-2 Anastasia Dobromyslova
Losers £200

Third Round
Steve Hine 6-3 Dennis Priestley
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Sean Palfrey
Toon Greebe 6-3 Martyn Turner
Mervyn King 6-2 Lionel Sams
Mark Walsh 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Denis Ovens 6-0 Ricky Williams
Ronnie Baxter 6-1 Dennis Smith
John Part 6-4 Alex Roy
Alan Tabern 6-2 Co Stompe
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Wayne Jones
Colin Osborne 6-1 Stuart Dutton
Jamie Caven 6-5 Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Mark Frost
Darren Latham 6-4 Jan van der Rassel
Robert Thornton 6-5 Gary Anderson
Kevin Painter 6-4 Andy Smith
Losers £300

Fourth Round
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Steve Hine
Mervyn King 6-3 Toon Greebe
Mark Walsh 6-2 Denis Ovens
Ronnie Baxter 6-3 John Part
Alan Tabern 6-1 Adrian Lewis
Colin Osborne 6-5 Jamie Caven
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Darren Latham
Robert Thornton 6-2 Kevin Painter
Losers £400

Vincent van der Voort 6-0 Mervyn King
Mark Walsh 6-2 Ronnie Baxter
Colin Osborne 6-4 Alan Tabern
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Robert Thornton
Losers £800

Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Mark Walsh
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Colin Osborne
Losers £1,500

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Winner £6,000
Runner-Up £3,000

About The Author