RONNIE BAXTER, Colin Lloyd and Vincent van der Voort are the latest qualifiers for the Grand Slam of Darts, which will take place at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall next month.

All three will make their returns to the tournament after being invited due to their positions in the PDC’s ranking system.

Baxter, the world number eight who previously competed in the event in 2007, is invited as the highest-ranked non-qualified player following the weekend’s PDC ProTour events in Germany.

Lloyd, meanwhile, is the leading player in the Players Championship Order of Merit this year, and Dutch ace van der Voort has topped the European Order of Merit after winning two Players Championships on the Continent in 2010.

Both Lloyd and van der Voort will maintain their ever-present record in the event having played in each of the three previous years, although neither has yet to get past the second round in Wolverhampton.

Van der Voort was a casualty in the group stage last year, having lost famously to former Women’s World Champion Anastasia Dobromyslova in their clash.

The trio take the field of qualifiers for the tournament to 26, with the remaining six spots to be decided across two days in Barnsley on November 5 and 6.

The ITV Wildcard Qualifier will be held on Friday November 5, with the knockout event open to any darts player and offering four places in the Grand Slam. Entries can still be made via

The following day will see the finalists of the PDC Unicorn Under-21 World Championship complete the 32-player field for the Grand Slam, which will be played from November 13-21 at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall.

The 32 players will be drawn into eight four-player groups for the first round of the event, before the top two in each progress to the knockout phase, with the event being screened live on ITV Sport.

Tickets for the Grand Slam of Darts are still available on 0870 320 7000 or by visiting the Wolves Civic Box Office.

About The Author