Phil Taylor & Michael van Gerwen to Battle for the Sid Waddell Trophy

Van Gerwen hit an amazing nine-darter during his Ladbrokes World Darts Championship semi-final against James Wade – and then missed double 12 to repeat the achievement in the next leg before going on to take a brilliant 6-3 victory.

World Darts Championship

9 Darter – Lawrence Lustig/PDC

He will be joined in the final on New Years day by Phil Taylor who dumped out Raymond van Barneveld, dashing any hopes of an all Dutch final.

The biggest rivalry in darts initially failed to live up to it’s billing as a confidence drained Barney failed to ignite, as Taylor steadily went about his business and established a seemingly unassailable lead.

At 5-1 ahead The Power missed two dart at tops allowing van Barneveld to clean up 66 and take a second set; the effect of which as it would transpire would be to extend the game, offer up some drama and make the scoreline more respectable.

Despite a third set without reply swiftly following, the early damage done by Taylor had already put the contest beyond question, and it was a case of too little too late from an emotional Barney now firing on all cylinders.

He secured a scrappy ninth set as Taylor showed weakness under pressure, but Taylor regrouped finishing 68 to take the final set 3-1 and win the match 6-4.

As the players left the stage Taylor appeared to take exception to van Barneveld’s extended post match handshake, the source of his anger unknown as he was unwilling to elaborate in his jovial post match interview, but his actions will leave a sour taste.

The 2013 Ladbrokes World Championship will therefore see the undisputed greatest player of the past two decades pitched against the young sensation of 2012, and could signal the real beginning of the much talked about changing of the darting guard.

Dutch ace van Gerwen was leading 3-1 in sets but trailing 2-0 in the fifth when he opened with 180 and 177 before taking out 144 to complete the nine-dart finish – the second of the tournament after Dean Winstanley’s achievement in the second round.

Van Gerwen then opened the set’s fourth leg with two 180s and hit another treble 20 and treble 19 but missed double 12 to create history with back-to-back nine-darters.

He did win the leg, in 12 darts, but lost the set as Wade cut the gap to 3-2 in sets, before the left-hander took the sixth set 3-0 to level the game.

Van Gerwen, though, regained his range and took the seventh set 3-1 and edged the eighth in a deciding leg to move 5-3 up.

Wade edged the ninth set in a deciding leg, but van Gerwen hit his 14th maximum of the game in the tenth set, winning three successive legs to seal a memorable triumph.

Van Gerwen’s nine-darter means that he will share the £15,000 nine-dart bonus with Winstanley, who had hit his perfect leg during a defeat to Vincent van der Voort – although any further nine-dart finishes in the remaining of the tournament would also earn a split of the prize money on a pro-rata basis.

Van Gerwen is the fourth player to hit a nine-dart finish in the Ladbrokes World Championship, following Raymond van Barneveld (2009 and 2010), Adrian Lewis (2011) and Winstanley (2013).

2013 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship Semi-final Stats

Michael van Gerwen v James Wade 

Match Average
Check Out Percentage
38.1% 24/63
Highest Finish 144
100 x55 140 x23 180 x14
Match Average
Check Out Percentage
38.46% 15/39
Highest Finish 120
100 x49 140 x25 180 x1

Phil Taylor v Raymond van Barneveld

Match Average
Check Out Percentage
40.74% 22/54
Highest Finish 141
100 x46 140 x29 180 x4
Match Average
Check Out Percentage
38.64% 17/44
Highest Finish 136
100 x53 140 x32 180 x9

2013 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship Links

Draw | Schedule of Play | Roll of Honour | Head to Heads | Beat The Tipster | 9 Dart Club | All Time Player Ratings | 2012 Results

One Response