The draw has been made for the 2011 Europena Championships and given Hamiltons form during this weeks World Matchplay, we think  Barney v Hammer could be the match of round 1, Klaasen v Chizzy looks tasty as well.

You will find the official information listed below.

PHIL TAYLOR will open the defence of his European Championship title against Greek debutant John Michael in Dusseldorf next Thursday.

The world number one has won the European Championship title for the past three years since the tournament was introduced in 2008, defeating Wayne Jones in the final 12 months ago.

His bid to reclaim the title will begin at the Maritim Hotel in Dusseldorf on Thursday July 28, when he plays Greek newcomer John Michael, who has qualified by virtue of his performances in the European-based Players Championships this year.

He could face either Mervyn King or Co Stompe in the second round, and is also in the same quarter of the draw as Mark Webster, Terry Jenkins, Justin Pipe and Paul Nicholson.

World number two Adrian Lewis will open up against Vincent van der Voort, having defeated the Dutchman during the World Matchplay this week, while number three seed James Wade takes on Sweden’s Magnus Caris.

Raymond van Barneveld, the five-time World Champion from Holland, meets resurgent Andy Hamilton in another tasty tie, with the Derby-based star having returned to form by reaching the semi-finals of the World Matchplay – a run which returned him to the world’s top 16 and earned him a European Championship place.

Number four seed Gary Anderson plays Derby’s Jamie Caven, Simon Whitlock meets Austria’s Mensur Suljovic, Wes Newton drew Andy Smith and number eight seed Mark Webster takes on Terry Jenkins.

Last year’s runner-up Jones takes on Mark Walsh, while Colin Lloyd drew Alan Tabern, Nicholson faces Pipe and John Part plays colourful Peter Wright.

Holland’s Jelle Klaasen plays debutant Dave Chisnall, while another newcomer, Belgian Kim Huybrechts, faces Spain’s Antonio Alcinas and Dutch ace Michael van Gerwen drew Ronnie Baxter.

The European Championship will be held at the Maritim Hotel in Dusseldorf from July 28-31 and screened live on ITV4.

The first round is split across Thursday and Friday nights, with the second round being played in two sessions on Saturday, and Sunday sees the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final contested as the players battle for the £50,000 first prize.

The 32-player field was confirmed following Hamilton’s defeat in the World Matchplay on Saturday night, with the draw later conducted by PDC Tournament Director Tommy Cox and PDPA Chairman Peter Manley.

The PDC’s top 16 qualify by right, and are joined by eight qualifiers from the Players Championship Order of Merit and eight qualifiers from the European Order of Merit. European Championship – Draw Bracket
Phil Taylor (1, ENG) v John Michael (GRE)
Mervyn King (ENG) v Co Stompe (NED)
Mark Webster (8, WAL) v Terry Jenkins (ENG)
Justin Pipe (ENG) v Paul Nicholson (AUS)
Simon Whitlock (5, AUS) v Mensur Suljovic (AUT)
Alan Tabern (ENG) v Colin Lloyd (ENG)
Gary Anderson (4, SCO) v Jamie Caven (ENG)
John Part (CAN) v Peter Wright (ENG)
Adrian Lewis (2, ENG) v Vincent van der Voort (NED)
Jelle Klaasen (NED) v Dave Chisnall (ENG)
Wes Newton (7, ENG) v Andy Smith (ENG)
Kim Huybrechts (BEL) v Antonio Alcinas (ESP)
Raymond van Barneveld (6, NED) v Andy Hamilton (ENG)
Wayne Jones (ENG) v Mark Walsh (ENG)
James Wade (3, ENG) v Magnus Caris (SWE)
Ronnie Baxter (ENG) v Michael van Gerwen (NED)

Schedule of Play (times are local - BST+1)
Thursday July 28
First Round

8.05pm Mervyn King v Co Stompe
8.35pm Alan Tabern v Colin Lloyd
9.05pm John Part v Peter Wright
9.35pm Justin Pipe v Paul Nicholson
10.05pm Simon Whitlock v Mensur Suljovic
10.35pm Phil Taylor v John Michael
11.05pm Mark Webster v Terry Jenkins
11.35pm Gary Anderson v Jamie Caven

Friday July 29
First Round

8.05pm Wayne Jones v Mark Walsh
8.35pm Jelle Klaasen v Dave Chisnall
9.05pm Ronnie Baxter v Michael van Gerwen
9.35pm Kim Huybrechts v Antonio Alcinas
10.05pm James Wade v Magnus Caris
10.35pm Adrian Lewis v Vincent van der Voort
11.05pm Wes Newton v Andy Smith
11.35pm Raymond van Barneveld v Andy Hamilton

Saturday July 30
Second Round

2.10pm Whitlock/Suljovic v Tabern/Lloyd
3.10pm Webster/Jenkins v Pipe/Nicholson
4.10pm Taylor/Michael v King/Stompe
5.10pm Anderson/Caven v Part/Wright

8.10pm Newton/Smith v Huybrechts/Alcinas
9.10pm Lewis/van der Voort v Klaasen/Chisnall
10.10pm Wade/Caris v Baxter/van Gerwen
11.10pm van Barneveld/Hamilton v Jones/Walsh

Sunday July 31


Approx 10.30pm

First Round – Best of 11 legs
Second Round – Best of 19 legs
Quarter-Finals – Best of 19 legs
Semi-Finals – Best of 21 legs
Final – Best of 21 legs

Prize Fund
Winner £50,000
Runner-Up £20,000
Semi-Finalists £10,000
Quarter-Finalists £7,500
Second Round Losers £5,000
First Round Losers £2,500
Total £200,000

Source – PDC

About The Author

One Response

  1. keith stevenson

    cant wait,should be a cracking tournament,thanks ITV4