WORLD CHAMPION Adrian Lewis was knocked out of the German Darts Championship by World Youth Champion James Hubbard in Berlin on Friday night, as Colin Lloyd hit a nine-dart finish in the first round of the £82,100 tournament.

Hubbard continued his impressive emergence on the professional circuit with an assured performance to defeat the world number two.

He led 3-2 before Lewis hit finishes of 13 and 14 darts to take the lead – only to see his teenage opponent level with a 14-darter before taking the next two legs for victory.

“It’s been one of my dreams to beat a World Champion so it’s a big win for me and I’m very proud,” said Hubbard.

“To play on the same stage as Adrian is a big achievement for me so to beat him is massive. He’s a great gentleman and he congratulated me afterwards, which means a lot to come from the World Champion.”

Hubbard now plays Peter Wright in Saturday’s second round, with the Lowestoft thrower having overcome Prakash Jiwa 6-5 earlier on Friday.

World number three James Wade joined Lewis in exiting the European Tour event at the first hurdle, as he went down 6-5 to Mensur Suljovic.

Wade – the runner-up to Justin Pipe in the Austrian Open in April – led 5-4 only to see the Austrian win leg ten in 13 darts before hitting a 177 for a second successive leg before winning the decider on double five in 14 darts, ending the game with a near-102 average.

World number one Phil Taylor overcame a scare against Dutch youngster Jerry Hendriks before winning through to the second round with a 6-4 victory as he was pushed all the way by the PDC newcomer.

Taylor hit a superb ten-darter in taking a 4-1 lead, only for Hendriks to hit back and level, but the Stoke great took leg nine and then stepped in to seal victory after the Dutchman missed tops for a 160 checkout which would have forced a deciding leg.

“It was very close and I’m relieved to be through,” said Taylor. “Jerry played really well and when he was lining up tops for the 160 I thought we were going to have a decider, so I was thankful that he missed it!”

Taylor – who had earlier been invited alongside Lewis to the British Embassy to meet the Ambassador Simon McDonald – now plays another young prospect, Reece Robinson, in the second round of the £82,100 event on Saturday after the Hull ace knocked out former World Champion Richie Burnett 6-2 earlier on Friday.

Colin Lloyd, meanwhile, hit a nine-dart finish during his 6-5 win over Alex Roy – but was left to be thankful for missed doubles from the Hertfordshire ace as he progressed to round two.

Lloyd – who is in line to pocket a £2,800 bonus should no other player achieve a nine-dart finish in the remainder of the event – now plays Paul Nicholson, after the Australian World Cup star defeated Germany’s Andree Welge 6-3.

“It was a great nine-darter for me because I hit 180, 171 and finished 150 with treble 20, treble 20 and double 15, and I don’t think any of the darts clipped a wire,” said Lloyd. “It was all sweet as a nut, and it helped me to get the result.

“I’m looking forward to playing Paul. He’s played some good stuff over the last few years and it will be nice to get on the big stage – hopefully I can dig in a little bit and have a battle.”

Simon Whitlock romped to a 6-0 win over newcomer Daniel Starkey in their clash on Friday night and now plays Brendan Dolan, who was a 6-4 winner against Germany’s Kevin Munch.

Bernd Roith was defeated 6-1 by Canada’s John Part, who now plays Terry Jenkins after the Ledbury star was a 6-3 winner against Sweden’s Magnus Caris.

Home hopes in the German Darts Championship will rest on Michael Rosenauer after he came from 3-2 down to defeat World Championship finalist Andy Hamilton 6-4.

Raymond van Barneveld was a comfortable 6-1 winner in his all-Dutch clash with Mareno Michels, and he will play Alan Tabern in round two, after the left-hander defeated Leon De Geus in a deciding leg.

Belgian ace Kim Huybrechts came from behind to defeat Steve Beaton 6-4 and set up a clash with Suljovic, while Ronnie Baxter also had to fight back before seeing off Andy Jenkins 6-5 to set up a clash with Vincent van der Voort.

Van der Voort pulled off the day’s most unlikely comeback as he fought back from 5-1 down to defeat Jim Walker in a decider.

Dean Winstanley enhanced his growing reputation with a fightback of his own to defeat Mark Walsh, who was ultimately punished for missing doubles to take victory in the final three legs of their thriller.

Winstanley will play Northern Ireland’s left-hander Michael Mansell, who defeated Jamie Caven 6-4, while Dave Ladley knocked out UK Open semi-finalist Denis Ovens to set up a second round game with Kevin Painter.

Wayne Jones and Mervyn King set up a second round clash with their victories over Zdravko Antunovic and Peter Hudson respecitvely, while Dave Chisnall’s 6-3 win over Gareth Cousins means he now plays Rosenauer.

Mark Webster overcame namesake Darren Webster 6-4 with a 100 average and now plays Colin Osborne, who was a 6-2 winner against Darren Johnson.

Wes Newton and Steve Brown will clash in the second round following their respective wins over Ireland’s William O’Connor and Welshman Steve Evans, while Holland’s Co Stompe came from 2-0 down to win 6-2 against youngster Sam Hill and now plays Michael Barnard.

World number four Gary Anderson forfeited his clash with Barnard following one leg due to en eye problem which was affecting his focus, while Painter was also handed safe passage into the last 32 when youngster Keegan Brown withdrew on Thursday through illness.

Justin Pipe also posted a ton-plus average as he came from 2-0 down to win 6-4 against Michael van Gerwen, and now plays Andy Smith after the Studley thrower’s narrow win over Mick Todd.

The second round is split across two sessions at the Tempodrom in Berlin on Saturday, before the last 16 play off for the £15,000 title on Sunday.

German Darts Championship
European Tour Event Two
Tempodrom, Berlin
Friday June 22
First Round

Mark Webster 6-4 Darren Webster
Co Stompe 6-2 Sam Hill
Wayne Jones 6-2 Zdravko Antunovic
Mervyn King 6-3 Peter Hudson
Dean Winstanley 6-5 Mark Walsh
Wes Newton 6-4 William O’Connor
Justin Pipe 6-4 Michael van Gerwen
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Gareth Cousins
Reece Robinson 6-2 Richie Burnett
Alan Tabern 6-5 Leon De Geus
Colin Osborne 6-2 Darren Johnson
Steve Brown 6-3 Steve Evans
Andy Smith 6-5 Mick Todd
Peter Wright 6-5 Prakash Jiwa
Dave Ladley 6-3 Denis Ovens
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Jim Walker
Paul Nicholson 6-3 Andree Welge
John Part 6-1 Bernd Roith
Simon Whitlock 6-0 Daniel Starkey
Michael Rosenauer 6-4 Andy Hamilton
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 Mareno Michels
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Steve Beaton
Phil Taylor 6-4 Jerry Hendriks
Ronnie Baxter 6-5 Andy Jenkins
James Hubbard 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 James Wade
Colin Lloyd 6-5 Alex Roy – Colin Lloyd hits nine-dart finish
Michael Mansell 6-4 Jamie Caven
Terry Jenkins 6-3 Magnus Caris
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Kevin Munch
Kevin Painter Bye (Keegan Brown withdrawn)
Michael Barnard Bye (Gary Anderson withdrew)

Saturday June 23
Second Round

Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm)
Wayne Jones v Mervyn King
Kevin Painter v Dave Ladley
Dean Winstanley v Michael Mansell
Mark Webster v Colin Osborne
Paul Nicholson v Colin Lloyd
Wes Newton v Steve Brown
Simon Whitlock v Brendan Dolan
Vincent van der Voort v Ronnie Baxter

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Terry Jenkins v John Part
Michael Barnard v Co Stompe
Justin Pipe v Andy Smith
James Hubbard v Peter Wright
Michael Rosenauer v Dave Chisnall
Phil Taylor v Reece Robinson
Raymond van Barneveld v Alan Tabern
Mensur Suljovic v Kim Huybrechts