Ian White has claimed his second ranking title, defeating Andy Jenkins 6-3 to take victory in the Players Championship 14 final in Wigan.

German Darts ChampionshipThe Stoke ace had claimed his maiden PDC title at a Players Championship in Barnsley in September, and picked up his second £10,000 cheque with Sunday’s triumph.

White endured some nervy moments in early wins over Keith Stephen and Nick Fullwell before dropping only three legs to see off Sweden’s Magnus Caris and Germany’s Bernd Roith to reach the quarter-finals.

There, he edged out Kevin McDine in a deciding leg, before whitewashing Gary Anderson in the semi-finals.

White took the final’s opening leg on tops against Jenkins, who hit a 177 and double 16 to level, only for the Stoke thrower to hit a 177 of his own as double seven, for a 15-dart leg, put him 2-1 up.

Portsmouth’s Jenkins hit back with a 14-darter to level on double nine, before moving ahead with double 16 to take a 3-2 advantage.

Double 18 saw White level, and he hit double ten to move back in front before a 13-dart leg, finished on tops, put him 5-3 up, and he was in no mood to allow Jenkins back in as he landed two 180s and double ten to seal victory in leg nine.

Jenkins’ display saw him win through to his first ranking final for five years, since a Players Championship in Killarney in 2008, and the £5,000 prize money he earned on the day has put him amongst the ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers for the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship.

The Portsmouth ace enjoyed wins over Shaun Griffiths, John Bowles and Darren Johnson before seeing off World Youth Champion Michael Smith 6-2 in the last 16.

He then overcame Andy Smith 6-4 in the quarter-finals, and repeated the scoreline against Darren Webster in the semis, but found White too strong in the decider.

Webster’s run saw him reach a second Players Championship final in the last four events, as he saw off the likes of Steve Beaton, John Henderson, Daryl Gurney and Alex Roy.

Anderson continued his battle to return to the world’s top 16 by reaching the last four in Wigan, enjoying wins over Paul Amos, Mark Lawrence, Mick Todd, William O’Connor and Andrew Gilding, but was swept aside by White in the semis.

Kevin McDine’s quarter-final appearance consolidated his place amongst the ProTour qualifiers for the World Championship, while Gilding’s last eight finish sees him follow up a Players Championship semi-final of last month with another strong performance.

White’s victory takes him up to 21st in the PDC Order of Merit, while Saturday’s champion Brendan Dolan returns to the world’s top 16, with his £10,000 prize money taking him up to 15th above Peter Wright and Terry Jenkins.

The PDC ProTour weekend in Wigan will conclude on Monday with the William Hill Grand Slam of Darts Wildcard Qualifier, which will see over 180 players competing for four places in front of the Sky Sports cameras in Wolverhampton.

PDC Players Championship 14 Results

Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan – Sunday November 3 2013
First Round
Jamie Caven (1) Bye
John Scott 6-3 Ricky Sudale
Scott Rand (32) 6-3 Jake Patchett
Paddy Meaney 6-5 Mark Jones
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Jamie Lewis (16)
Matthew Dennant 6-5 Steve West
Mark Webster (17) 6-5 Brett Claydon
Mark Frost 6-3 Ian Moss
Gary Anderson (8) 6-4 Paul Amos
Mark Lawrence 6-1 Marc Dewsbury
Mick Todd 6-5 Dennis Smith (25)
Matt Clark 6-4 James Richardson
Ronnie Baxter (9) 6-3 Steve Farmer
Pete Dyos 6-4 Jyhan Artut
William O’Connor 6-5 Vincent van der Voort (24)
Darren Whittingham 6-3 Mark Forman
Ian White (5) 6-4 Keith Stephen
Nick Fullwell 6-1 Adam Hunt
Ross Smith (28) 6-5 Jerry Hendriks
Magnus Caris 6-2 Paul Barham
Wayne Jones (12) 6-3 Joe Murnan
Bernd Roith 6-1 David Copley
Gino Vos 6-5 Joe Cullen (21)
Mark Cox 6-2 Campbell Jackson
John Part (4) 6-5 Mark Hylton
Kevin McDine 6-4 Jon Jukes
Steve Brown (29) 6-5 Simon Burt
Prakash Jiwa 6-0 Michael Blake
Richie Burnett (13) 6-4 Andy Pearce
Gaz Cousins 6-3 Steve Hine
Ronny Huybrechts (20) 6-2 Leo Hendriks
Colin Fowler 6-5 Joey Palfreyman
Brendan Dolan (2) Bye
Darren Johnson 6-3 Keith Rooney
John Bowles (31) 6-3 Steven Pearson
Andy Jenkins 6-1 Shaun Griffiths
Michael Smith (15) 6-0 Ricky Evans
Sam Hill 6-1 Andrew Howarth
Arron Monk (18) 6-5 Brian Woods
Dan Russell 6-4 Johnny Haines
Stuart Kellett (7) 6-5 Steve Maish
Max Hopp 6-4 Ryan De Vreede
Dean Winstanley (26) 6-1 Steve Grubb
Dennis Priestley 6-4 Reece Robinson
Andy Smith (10) 6-1 Keegan Brown
Ryan Harrington 6-1 Terry Temple
Connie Finnan 6-4 Mensur Suljovic (23)
Barrie Bates 6-5 Stephen Hardy
Paul Nicholson (6) 6-1 David Pallett
Matthew Edgar 6-2 Richie Howson
John Henderson (27) 6-5 Kevin Dowling
Roland Scholten 6-1 Michael Barnard
Vernon Sheppard 6-5 Colin Lloyd (11)
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Darron Brown
Darren Webster (22) 6-4 Alan Derrett
Alex Roy 6-5 Adrian Gray
Steve Beaton (3) 6-2 Ian Walters
James Hubbard 6-4 Mark Dudbridge
Peter Hudson 6-2 Colin Osborne (30)
Chris Aubrey 6-1 Scott Pearson
Alan Tabern 6-4 Jelle Klaasen (14)
Nigel Heydon 6-5 Michael Mansell
Jim Walker 6-4 Mark Walsh (19)
Josh Payne 6-3 Matthew Dicken

Second Round
Jamie Caven 6-2 John Scott
Scott Rand 6-0 Paddy Meaney
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Matthew Dennant
Mark Webster 6-3 Mark Frost
Gary Anderson 6-4 Mark Lawrence
Mick Todd 6-1 Matt Clark
Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Pete Dyos
William O’Connor 6-1 Darren Whittingham
Ian White 6-5 Nick Fullwell
Magnus Caris 6-3 Ross Smith
Bernd Roith 6-4 Wayne Jones
Mark Cox 6-4 Gino Vos
Kevin McDine 6-4 John Part
Steve Brown 6-4 Prakash Jiwa
Richie Burnett 6-5 Gaz Cousins
Colin Fowler 6-2 Ronny Huybrechts
Darren Johnson 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Andy Jenkins 6-4 John Bowles
Michael Smith 6-0 Sam Hill
Arron Monk 6-5 Dan Russell
Stuart Kellett 6-1 Max Hopp
Dennis Priestley 6-3 Dean Winstanley
Andy Smith 6-2 Ryan Harrington
Connie Finnan 6-1 Barrie Bates
Paul Nicholson 6-4 Matthew Edgar
John Henderson 6-2 Roland Scholten
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Vernon Sheppard
Darren Webster 6-3 Alex Roy
Steve Beaton 6-1 James Hubbard
Chris Aubrey 6-4 Peter Hudson
Alan Tabern 6-1 Nigel Heydon
Jim Walker 6-1 Josh Payne
Losers £250

Third Round
Jamie Caven 6-5 Scott Rand
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Mark Webster
Gary Anderson 6-3 Mick Todd
William O’Connor 6-5 Ronnie Baxter
Ian White 6-2 Magnus Caris
Bernd Roith 6-5 Mark Cox
Kevin McDine 6-5 Steve Brown
Colin Fowler 6-5 Richie Burnett
Andy Jenkins 6-1 Darren Johnson
Michael Smith 6-1 Arron Monk
Stuart Kellett 6-1 Dennis Priestley
Andy Smith 6-3 Connie Finnan
John Henderson 6-3 Paul Nicholson
Darren Webster 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Steve Beaton 6-1 Chris Aubrey
Alan Tabern 6-5 Jim Walker
Losers £500

Fourth Round
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Jamie Caven
Gary Anderson 6-3 William O’Connor
Ian White 6-1 Bernd Roith
Kevin McDine 6-5 Colin Fowler
Andy Jenkins 6-2 Michael Smith
Andy Smith 6-4 Stuart Kellett
Darren Webster 6-4 John Henderson
Steve Beaton 6-0 Alan Tabern
Losers £1,000

Gary Anderson 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Ian White 6-5 Kevin McDine
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Andy Smith
Darren Webster 6-3 Steve Beaton
Losers £1,500

Ian White 6-0 Gary Anderson
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Darren Webster
Losers £2,500

Ian White 6-3 Andy Jenkins
Winner £10,000
Runner-Up £5,000

About The Author