THE final qualifiers for the 2011 PDC ProTour were discovered on Sunday’s fourth day of the Qualifying School in Wigan.

Ian Jopling, Peter Hudson, Prakash Jiwa and Mick Todd were the four final Tour Card winners, joining 12 other players who had won through on the previous three days at the Robin Park Tennis Centre.

They are joined by nine other players who win a Tour Card from the Q School Order of Merit following the four days, with points allocated for finishing positions in each day plus per leg won in matches.

Aldershot’s Ian Jopling ensured he remains on the professional circuit for a fourth year in 2011 after picking up a 6-2 win over Nigel Birch in his deciding game.

Jopling, who has previously qualified for the UK Open in 2008 and 2009, overcame Tim Hope in a tight first round game and also defeated David Coyne, Dean Wiltshire and Tom Martin in qualifying.

Salford’s Peter Hudson, who initially joined the PDC 12 months ago, overcame youngster Jason Crawley 6-2 in their decisive match, having only dropped one leg in earlier wins over Lee Palfreyman, Ashley Holgate and Adam Smith-Neale.

Rugby-based Jiwa, a 40-year-old warehouse supervisor, bounced back from a defeat to John Henderson in Saturday’s deciding games to win a Tour Card at the final time of asking 24 hours later.

He enjoyed two whitewash wins on the day, against Mike Roberts and Harry Robinson, as well as defeating Jamie Atkins and Simon Burt before a 6-4 win against youngster Adam Hunt saw him win his Tour Card.

Newark newcomer Mick Todd, who has only been playing competitive darts for 18 months, was the other winner, having only dropped nine legs in five games on the day.

He defeated Andy Pearson, Kevin Bambrick, Chris Aubrey and Michael Nott to reach the last eight, and a 6-3 defeat of Andy Brown sealed his Tour Card.

The total of 128 Tour Card holders comprises of 101 players from the PDC Order of Merit after the World Darts Championship, plus the PDC Unicorn Women’s World Championship finalists Tricia Wright and Stacy Bromberg.

Alongside the 16 Tour Card winners from the four days in Wigan, nine further qualifiers earned a Tour Card from the Q School Order of Merit, and were:
Andy Brown
Adam Smith-Neale
Mark Jodrill
Jason Crawley
Terry Temple
Mark Jones
Ken Dobson
Jimmy Mann
Paul Rowley

Players who did not win a Tour Card are awarded Associate Membership of the PDPA, entitling them to enter UK Open Qualifiers and non-UK Players Championships, as well as thee World Championship Qualifier.

Players may also be eligible to play in UK-based Players Championships when there is a shortfall of the 128 Tour Card holders from the entry for an event, with places awarded in order of finishing position in the Q School Order of Merit.

Qualifying School Day Four
First Round
Michael Nott 6-2 Tony Comerford
Mark Tiller 6-2 Peter Martin
Mick Todd 6-2 Andy Pearson
Martyn Bevan 6-1 Donna Rainsley
Ken Dobson 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Jason Crawley 6-5 Gary Eastwood
Gary O’Donnell 6-5 Steve Perkins
Mark Jodrill 6-1 Ryan Harrington
Lee Palfreyman 6-5 Scott Marsh
Adam Smith-Neale 6-5 Andy Pearce
Ian Jopling 6-5 Tim Hope
David Coyne 6-4 Jimmy Murphy
Tom Martin 6-5 Mike Gillett
Ian McFarlane 6-5 Sam Allen
Lee Hayes 6-1 Darren Whittingham
Reece Robinson 6-1 Ryan Herrington
Prakash Jiwa 6-0 Mike Roberts
Geoff Whitworth 6-1 Lee White
Adam Hunt 6-3 Mark Jones

Second Round
Andrew Hibbert 6-1 Andrew Hodges
Michael Nott 6-4 Mark Tiller
Chris Aubrey 6-5 Jimmy Mann
Mick Todd 6-0 Kevin Bambrick
John Quantock 6-4 Adrian Bolitho
Simon Jones 6-4 Martyn Bevan
Ian Lever 6-3 Norman Fletcher
Andy Brown 6-5 Ken Dobson
John Smith 6-2 Henry Zapata
Jason Crawley 6-2 Gary O’Donnell
Simon Craven 6-4 Andy Relf
Mark Jodrill 6-1 Nick Malkin
Ashley Holgate 6-3 Brian Startin
Peter Hudson 6-0 Lee Palfreyman
Paul Rowley 6-2 Michael Bushby
Adam Smith-Neale 6-3 Paul Hodkin
Dean Wiltshire 6-5 Andy Fulton
Ian Jopling 6-3 David Coyne
Paul Schofield 6-2 Jon Archer
Tom Martin 6-0 John Walton
Nigel Birch 6-0 Richard Walsh
Terry Temple 6-3 Ian McFarlane
Andy Hutchings 6-1 Mark Carter
Nick Bache 6-1 Lee Hayes
Harry Robinson 6-1 Jimmy Chojnowski
Tony Blundell 6-3 Reece Robinson
Simon Burt 6-3 Ryan Maher
Prakash Jiwa 6-2 Jamie Atkins
Darren Latham 6-0 Paddy Meaney
Geoff Whitworth 6-3 Dean Jones
John O’Shea 6-1 Darrell Claydon
Adam Hunt 6-1 Steve Watts

Third Round
Michael Nott 6-3 Andrew Hibbert
Mick Todd 6-2 Chris Aubrey
Simon Jones 6-1 John Quantock
Andy Brown 6-0 Ian Lever
Jason Crawley 6-5 John Smith
Mark Jodrill 6-1 Simon Craven
Peter Hudson 6-0 Ashley Holgate
Adam Smith-Neale 6-5 Paul Rowley
Ian Jopling 6-2 Dean Wiltshire
Tom Martin 6-4 Paul Schofield
Nigel Birch 6-3 Terry Temple
Andy Hutchings 6-5 Nick Bache
Harry Robinson 6-3 Tony Blundell
Prakash Jiwa 6-3 Simon Burt
Geoff Whitworth 6-4 Darren Latham
Adam Hunt 6-3 John O’Shea

Fourth Round
Mick Todd 6-2 Michael Nott
Andy Brown 6-5 Simon Jones
Jason Crawley 6-5 Mark Jodrill
Peter Hudson 6-1 Adam Smith-Neale
Ian Jopling 6-2 Tom Martin
Nigel Birch 6-3 Andy Hutchings
Prakash Jiwa 6-0 Harry Robinson
Adam Hunt 6-1 Geoff Whitworth

Fifth Round
Mick Todd 6-3 Andy Brown
Peter Hudson 6-2 Jason Crawley
Ian Jopling 6-2 Nigel Birch
Prakash Jiwa 6-4 Adam Hunt
Winners awarded PDC ProTour Cards

The 16 Tour Card winners at Q School were:
Magnus Caris
Dave Chisnall
Shaun Griffiths
John Henderson
Peter Hudson
Matt Jackson
Prakash Jiwa
Ian Jopling
Michael Mansell
Shane O’Connor
Dyson Parody
Devon Petersen
James Richardson
Michael Rosenauer
Mick Todd
Brian Woods

The nine Q School Order of Merit Tour Card winners were:
Andy Brown
Adam Smith-Neale
Mark Jodrill
Jason Crawley
Terry Temple
Mark Jones
Ken Dobson
Jimmy Mann
Paul Rowley

About The Author