Michael Smith Wins the 15th PDC Unicorn Youth Tour event in Derby

Smith – who recently qualified for the Betfair World Matchplay, losing to Raymond van Barneveld in Blackpool – bounced back to claim Sunday’s £500 first prize, as he won Event 15 with a whitewash of Whitworth to earn his third Youth Tour victory of the year

Smith’s run to the final included a revenge win over Lewis, as he won 4-3 in their third round clash – which was the only time in seven games on the day he would lose more than one leg in victory.

Whitworth’s run saw him win through to his first Youth Tour final, and included a 4-3 semi-final win over Monk and victories over Josh McCarthy, Lewis Venes, Ben Songhurst and Joshua Richardson.

The results leave four-time event winner Monk clear at the top of the Youth Tour Order of Merit on £3,525 prize money won so far this year, with Smith now second on £2,650 ahead of World Youth Champion James Hubbard, who has won £2,600.

Lewis’ win sees him in fourth on £1,875, with Chris Aubrey, Sam Hill, Josh Payne, Keegan Brown, Jamie Landon and Ben Songhurst all now having passed £1,000 prize money this year.

The next PDC Unicorn Youth Tour weekend will be held at the Robin Park Tennis Centre in Wigan on September 29 & 30. Entry costs £30 per event and is available via the PDC Online Entry System at www.pdc.tv.

PDC Unicorn Youth Tour Event 15
Moorways Centre, Derby – August 5

First Round
Alexander Topper 4-2 Matthew Dicken
Brandonn Monk 4-3 Jamie Landon
Curtis Hammond 4-1 Nicholas Day
Adam Hunt 4-1 Dan Read
Matthew Dennant 4-0 Curtis Bagley
Michael Smith 4-1 William Robbins
Aden Kirk 4-0 Thomas Chant
John Seagrave 4-2 Lewis Oliver
James Thompson 4-2 Martin Walker
Greg Falcus 4-0 Jack Morris
Joshua Carter 4-2 James O’Connor
George Killington 4-2 Joe Davis
Joe Thompson 4-2 Jake Pennington
Samuel Head 4-3 Carl Draper
Arron Monk 4-2 Jack Tweddell
Adam Smith-Neale 4-0 Dan Dean
Sam Hamilton 4-1 Robert Raine
Shaun Rogerson 4-2 James Young
Josh McCarthy 4-0 Robbie Hewson
Ricky De Vos 4-3 Christopher Quantock
Darren Whittingham 4-0 Adam Hart
Shaun Griffiths 4-3 Ryan Maher
Ryan Harrington 4-0 Kirsty Haw
Ben Songhurst 4-0 Robert Marsden

Second Round
Jake Jones 4-0 Wouter Vaes
Brandonn Monk 4-1 Alexander Topper
Ryan De Vreede 4-2 Rhys Griffin
Adam Hunt 4-2 Curtis Hammond
Kurt Parry 4-2 Brandon Walsh
Matthew Dennant 4-1 Tommy Lishman
Jamie Lewis 4-2 Shane Friedlander
Michael Smith 4-0 Ryan Sullivan
Sam Hill 4-1 John De Kruijf
Aden Kirk 4-3 John Seagrave
Josh Payne 4-0 Sam Davidson
James Thompson 4-1 Greg Falcus
Jack Hill 4-1 Sean Ryan
Joshua Carter 4-0 Kirsty Hutchinson
Ryan Herrington 4-3 Oliver Stell
George Killington 4-1 Nathan Street
Ricky Evans 4-2 Sam Hewson
Samuel Head 4-2 Joe Thompson
Jake Patchett 4-1 Daniel King Morris
Arron Monk 4-3 Adam Smith-Neale
Chris Aubrey 4-0 Nick Kenny
Sam Hamilton 4-3 Michael Blake
James Hubbard 4-2 Paddy Meaney
Liam Lewis 4-2 Shaun Rogerson
Martin Heneghan 4-2 Josh Jones
Josh McCarthy 4-2 Ricky De Vos
Ross Robson 4-1 Reece Robinson
Shaun Griffiths 4-1 Darren Whittingham
Lewis Venes 4-0 Liam Showell
Peter Browning 4-2 Ryan Harrington
Lee Whitworth 4-1 Joshua Richardson
Ben Songhurst 4-3 Keegan Brown

Third Round
Brandonn Monk 4-2 Jake Jones
Ryan De Vreede 4-3 Adam Hunt
Kurt Parry 4-2 Matthew Dennant
Michael Smith 4-3 Jamie Lewis
Sam Hill 4-3 Aden Kirk
Josh Payne 4-0 James Thompson
Jack Hill 4-1 Joshua Carter
Ryan Herrington 4-3 George Killington
Samuel Head 4-3 Ricky Evans
Arron Monk 4-1 Jake Patchett
Chris Aubrey 4-1 Sam Hamilton
James Hubbard 4-0 Liam Lewis
Josh McCarthy 4-3 Martin Heneghan
Ross Robson 4-3 Shaun Griffiths
Lewis Venes 4-1 Peter Browning
Lee Whitworth 4-1 Ben Songhurst
Losers £50

Fourth Round
Ryan De Vreede 4-0 Brandonn Monk
Michael Smith 4-1 Kurt Parry
Josh Payne 4-2 Sam Hill
Ryan Herrington 4-3 Jack Hill
Arron Monk 4-2 Samuel Head
James Hubbard 4-0 Chris Aubrey
Josh McCarthy 4-2 Ross Robson
Lee Whitworth 4-1 Lewis Venes
Losers £75

Michael Smith 4-1 Ryan De Vreede
Josh Payne 4-0 Ryan Herrington
Arron Monk 4-0 James Hubbard
Lee Whitworth 4-3 Josh McCarthy
Losers £100

Michael Smith 4-1 Josh Payne
Lee Whitworth 4-3 Arron Monk
Losers £200

Michael Smith 4-0 Lee Whitworth
Winner £500
Runner-Up £300

Source PDC/Lawrence Lustig

About The Author