RICKY EVANS defeated David Coyne 4-1 to win the fifth PDC Unicorn Youth Tour event, held at the Barnsley Metrodome on Saturday.

Kettering’s Evans, 20, claimed the £600 first prize with his best showing on the Youth Tour this year, defeating some high-profile names along the way.

Having defeated Steve Kirkby, Matt Gallett and Damian Smith to win his first three matches, Evans then whitewashed Hull prospect Reece Robinson in the quarter-finals and defeated Youth Tour Order of Merit leader Shaun Griffiths 4-1 in the semis.

He then took a 4-1 win over Irish ace Coyne in the final with some fine darts.

Having shared the opening two legs with Coyne, Evans won the third on double eight and took a key break by finishing 52 on double 16 in the fourth, after the Irish youngster missed a dart at double top.

Coyne hit three ton-plus scores to leave himself a finish in the fifth, but Evans checked out 130 on the bullseye to claim the victory.

Coyne had overcome fellow countryman Ryan Maher 4-1 in the semi-finals, and defeated Co Stompe Jnr in a tight quarter-final, in which the Dutchman missed one dart at the bull for victory.

Griffiths defeated Michael van Gerwen, Event Four winner Paul Barham and Michael Smith – the winner of a UK Open Qualifier in Barnsley earlier this year – in his run to the last four as he moved clear at the top of the PDC Unicorn Youth Tour Order of Merit.

The next PDC Unicorn Youth Tour event will be held at the Robin Park Tennis Centre on Saturday April 30. Entry costs £25 for players aged from 14-21, and can be made by calling 08712 501 180 during office hours.

PDC Unicorn Youth Tour Event Five
First Round
Ross Robson 3-1 Adam Hart
Bryan Flew 3-1 Luke Humphries
Daniel Wood 3-0 Daniel Cooper
Curtis Hammond 3-2 Joe Pearce
Adam Smith-Neale 3-0 Jake Pennington
Ryan Herrington 3-2 Charlie Jackson
Scott Rollings 3-2 Ryan Harrington
Graham Hutchinson 3-0 Adam Griffiths
Joe Davis 3-1 Curtis Reeves
Ryan Maher 3-0 Joshua Priestley
Anthony West 3-2 Dan Read
Josh Jones 3-2 Simon Hicks
Arron Monk 3-0 Jonathan Mulley
Steve Kirkby 3-0 Scott Yates
Damian Smith 3-0 Brandon Jones
Paul Cooper 3-0 Sam Schofield
Reece Robinson 3-1 Jake Jones
Brandon Monk 3-0 Lee Whitworth
Aden Kirk 3-2 Scott Pearson
Shaun Griffiths 3-1 Spencer Murphy
Paul Barham 3-0 Dan Elcock
Wouter Vaes 3-1 Jordan Smith
David Everley 3-1 Brandon Walsh
Sam Davidson 3-2 Dean Reynolds
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 David Galaska

Second Round
Daniel O’Donnell 3-0 Kirsty Haw
Ross Robson 3-2 Bryan Flew
David Coyne 3-0 Ryan Hitchens
Curtis Hammond 3-1 Daniel Woods
James Young 3-2 Ricky Williams
Adam Smith-Neale 3-0 Curtis Jones
Co Stompe Jnr 3-2 James Hubbard
Ryan Herrington 3-2 Scott Rollings
Roy Westerlaken 3-0 Connor Durham
Martin Heneghan 3-2 Graham Hutchinson
David Pallett 3-1 Greg Falcus
Ryan Maher 3-2 Joe Davis
Sam Hill 3-0 Jamie Green
Robert Raine 3-1 Anthony West
Nick Kenny 3-1 Michael Wood
Josh Jones 3-1 Arron Monk
Matthew Gallett 3-1 Marc Evans
Ricky Evans 3-1 Steve Kirkby
Jamie Grinhaff 3-1 Paul Mitchell
Damian Smith 3-0 Paul Cooper
Carl Draper 3-1 Chris Pimblett
Reece Robinson 3-2 Darren Whittingham
Josh Thompson 3-2 Jamie Landon
Aden Kirk 3-1 Brandon Monk
Michael Smith 3-1 Chris Aubrey
Shaun Griffiths 3-0 Jack Barwick
Gilbert van der Meijden 3-1 Matthew Dicken
Paul Barham 3-1 Wouter Vaes
Joe Cullen 3-1 Steve Haggerty
David Everley 3-2 Michael Bushby
James Thompson 3-2 Adam Hunt
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Sam Davidson

Third Round
Ross Robson 3-1 Daniel O’Donnell
David Coyne 3-1 Curtis Hammond
Adam Smith-Neale 3-2 James Young
Co Stompe Jnr 3-2 Ryan Herrington
Martin Heneghan 3-1 Roy Westerlaken
Ryan Maher 3-1 David Pallett
Sam Hill 3-0 Robert Raine
Nick Kenny 3-2 Josh Jones
Ricky Evans 3-2 Matthew Gallett
Damian Smith 3-1 Jamie Grinhaff
Reece Robinson 3-2 Carl Draper
Josh Thompson 3-2 Aden Kirk
Shaun Griffiths 3-2 Michael Smith
Paul Barham 3-2 Gilbert van der Meijden
Joe Cullen 3-2 David Everley
Michael van Gerwen 3-1 James Thompson

Fourth Round
David Coyne 3-0 Ross Robson
Co Stompe Jnr 3-2 Adam Smith-Neale
Ryan Maher 3-2 Martin Heneghan
Nick Kenny 3-0 Sam Hill
Ricky Evans 3-2 Damian Smith
Reece Robinson 3-0 Josh Thompson
Shaun Griffiths 3-0 Paul Barham
Michael van Gerwen 3-2 Joe Cullen
Losers £25

David Coyne 3-2 Co Stompe Jnr
Ryan Maher 3-0 Nick Kenny
Ricky Evans 3-0 Reece Robinson
Shaun Griffiths 3-0 Michael van Gerwen
Losers £100

David Coyne 4-1 Ryan Maher
Ricky Evans 4-1 Shaun Griffiths
Losers £200

Ricky Evans 4-1 David Coyne
Winner £600
Runner-Up £400

Source – PDC

About The Author