Emerging star Michael Smith hit a nine-darter in the first day of the PDC’s inaugural European Tour event on Friday, as big guns Raymond van Barneveld, James Wade, Gary Anderson and Simon Whitlock joined him in the second round of the Austrian Darts Open.

St Helens-based Smith, 21, continued his impressive form in 2012 by achieving a perfect leg, his first in a senior event, in a 6-4 comeback win against Jamie Caven.

The youngster – who has one both a Players Championship and a PDC Unicorn Youth Tour event this year – trailed Caven 3-0 when he hit back-to-back 180s and finished 141 with treble 20, treble 19 and double 12 to complete the nine-darter, matching his achievement on the Youth Tour last year.

Although Caven took the next leg to lead 4-1, Smith then showed his class by reeling off five successive legs to take victory and set up a second round clash with Mark Walsh – who overcame Brian Woods 6-1 – on Saturday afternoon.

“It’s a massive confidence boost,” said Smith. “I know how good Jamie is and he punished me for missed doubles in the first three legs, but I took my chances when I got them – I didn’t miss anything after being 4-1 down.

“My form’s spot-on. I’m doing the hours in practice and I don’t think anyone works harder on their game than me, it’s all about darts and I want to do the same again tomorrow.”

Former world number one Colin Lloyd was another impressive performer on the opening day of the £82,100 tournament in Austria, averaging 111 in a 6-3 defeat of Ian White.

Five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld defeated Arron Monk 6-4, while world number three James Wade hit finishes of 160 and 142 in his 6-3 victory over Prakash Jiwa.

Reigning McCoy’s Premier League Darts champion Gary Anderson took out 150 and 130 in successive legs as he hit back from 3-1 down to defeat Scott Rand 6-4, and he now faces Co Stompe on Saturday following the Dutchman’s win over Ross Smith.

Simon Whitlock survived a strong comeback from young Dutchman Mareno Michels, who hit back from 4-0 down to level before the Australian took a 6-4 victory to set up a second round meeting with Bradford’s Joe Cullen, who saw off World Grand Prix finalist Brendan Dolan by the same scoreline.

Kevin Painter defeated Johnny Haines 6-2 with an impressive 101 average and will now meet a fellow former World Championship finalist Mark Dudbridge, who edged out three-time World Champion John Part 6-5 in their first round tussle.

Denis Ovens was another 6-5 winner as he came from behind to defeat John Scott, and he now plays Terry Jenkins, who saw off Austrian Dietmar Burger 6-4.

World Championship finalist Andy Hamilton was a 6-3 winner against Roland Scholten as he set up a meeting with Dave Chisnall, who overcame Austria’s Martin Kurecka 6-1.

PDC debutant Zoran Lerchbacher led Alan Tabern 2-0 before he succumbed to a 6-2 defeat in front of his home crowd, with the left-hander now taking on Mark Webster in round two following the Welshman’s defeat of Jelle Klaasen.

Dutch ace Michael van Gerwen defeated Mervyn King 6-4 with a 102.47 average to set up a tasty second round clash with Lloyd, while his fellow countryman Vincent van der Voort will now play Belgium’s Kim Huybrechts following their respective wins over Darren Webster and Andy Smith.

Youngster Gino Vos is the fifth Dutchman in the second round after he defeated Wayne Jones 6-3, and he now plays Justin Pipe, who knocked out the other home hope, Mensur Suljovic, with a 6-2 triumph.

Former Lakeside Championship finalist Dean Winstanley impressed with a 6-3 defeat of Paul Nicholson, and he meets another PDC newcomer, Jim Walker, in round two after the Scot edged out Ronnie Baxter 6-5.

World number six Wes Newton saw off Croatian qualifier Boris Krcmar 6-4 and plays Steve Evans in the last 32, with the Welshman seeing off Steve Brown 6-2.

Steve Beaton’s win over Mick Todd earned him a clash with Wade, while Colin Osborne saw off Richie Howson to set up a fixture with van Barneveld.

Former World Champion Richie Burnett defeated Germany’s Michael Rosenauer 6-4, and Peter Wright saw off Ireland’s William O’Connor 6-1 to progress in the day’s other matches.

Burnett now meets Leicestershire newcomer Gaz Cousins and Wright plays James Richardson, with the pair having received byes through to the second round following the withdrawal of Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis.

Play in the second round is split across two sessions at the Arena Nova in Wiener Neustadt on Saturday, with Sunday seeing the third round held in the afternoon and the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening session.

European Tour Event One – Austrian Darts Open
Friday April 27
First Round Results

Afternoon Session
Main Stage
Wayne Jones 3-6 Gino Vos
Mark Walsh 6-1 Brian Woods
Mark Webster 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Colin Lloyd 6-3 Ian White
Paul Nicholson 3-6 Dean Winstanley
Wes Newton 6-4 Boris Krcmar
Terry Jenkins 6-4 Dietmar Burger
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Darren Webster
Alan Tabern 6-2 Zoran Lerchbacher

Second Stage
Richie Burnett 6-4 Michael Rosenauer
Peter Wright 6-1 William O’Connor
Steve Beaton 6-3 Mick Todd
Co Stompe 6-3 Ross Smith
Brendan Dolan 4-6 Joe Cullen
Steve Brown 2-6 Steve Evans
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Martin Kurecka

Evening Session
Main Stage
Gary Anderson 6-4 Scott Rand
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Mareno Michels
James Wade 6-3 Prakash Jiwa
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Roland Scholten
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Arron Monk
Kevin Painter 6-2 Johnny Haines
Mervyn King 4-6 Michael van Gerwen
Justin Pipe 6-2 Mensur Suljovic

Second Stage
Colin Osborne 6-4 Richie Howson
John Part 5-6 Mark Dudbridge
Denis Ovens 6-5 John Scott
Jamie Caven 4-6 Michael Smith – Michael Smith hits nine-dart finish
Andy Smith 3-6 Kim Huybrechts
Ronnie Baxter 5-6 Jim Walker

Saturday April 28
Second Round

Afternoon Session – 1pm start
Mark Webster v Alan Tabern
Mark Walsh v Michael Smith
Gino Vos v Justin Pipe
James Richardson v Peter Wright
Wes Newton v Steve Evans
Terry Jenkins v Denis Ovens
Gaz Cousins v Richie Burnett
Vincent van der Voort v Kim Huybrechts

Evening Session – 7pm start
Andy Hamilton v Dave Chisnall
Kevin Painter v Mark Dudbridge
Gary Anderson v Co Stompe
James Wade v Steve Beaton
Colin Lloyd v Michael van Gerwen
Dean Winstanley v Jim Walker
Raymond van Barneveld v Colin Osborne
Simon Whitlock v Joe Cullen