REECE ROBINSON defeated Shaun Griffiths 4-0 to win the final of the ninth PDC Unicorn Youth Tour event, held at the Barnsley Metrodome on Saturday.

Hull’s Robinson, 19, followed up an impressive run to the last 32 of the Speedy Hire UK Open last weekend by picking up his first professional title, claiming £600 as he denied Griffiths a second win of the year on the PDC Unicorn Youth Tour.

Robinson also defeated another former winner, Paul Barham, as well as Jonathan Mulley, Christopher Lawrence and Adam Smith-Neale to reach the final.

After edging the opening leg on double three, Robinson took out 76 to win the second and double 13 for the third, after Griffiths missed a single 19 which would have left him the bullseye.

Robinson then secured a whitewash win by finishing 100 in two darts to take the fourth leg.

“It means a huge amount to me to win this,” said Robinson. “There are a lot of good players in these events and I’ve not won past the quarter-finals before, so I’m very happy.

“Shaun’s beaten me before in a quarter-final before, beating me 3-0 with legs of 14, 14 and ten darts and I knew I had to do something similar to beat him and 4-0 is great.

“After last week in Bolton I said to myself that I must be among the favourites, and I just tried to play the same standard of darts.

“It’s been a year where I’ve learned a lot. I had a suspension earlier on but I’ve got the silly stuff out of the way now and in a way it’s helped me along because I’ve wanted to practice harder and play a lot better.”

Griffiths edged out two-time event winner Michael van Gerwen 4-3 in the semis, with the Dutchman missing a dart at the bull for victory in the deciding leg before the Manchester-based youngster finished 69 in two darts.

Van Gerwen’s run to the last four saw him overcome former winner Adam Hunt and UK Open Qualifier winner Michael Smith on the day.

Smith-Neale’s run to the semi-finals was his best of the year, eclipsing three previous quarter-final appearances.

The next PDC Unicorn Youth Tour event will be held at the Van Der Valk Hotel in Nuland next Saturday, following the conclusion of the Players Championship. Entry can still be made by calling the PDC Head Office on 08712 501 180, or for non-UK players by visiting

PDC Unicorn Youth Tour Event Nine
Preliminary Round
Lee Whitworth 3-0 Liam Cooper
Co Stompe Jnr 3-0 Dean Reynolds
Michael Smith 3-0 Kirsty Haw
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Brandon Monk
Darren Whittingham 3-1 Charlie Jackson
Paul Cooper 3-0 Daniel Firth

First Round
Jonathan Mulley 3-1 Matt Gallett
Reece Robinson Bye (Lee Whitworth timed out)
Brandon Walsh 3-0 Rees Hall
Paul Barham 3-0 Luke Wathen
Jamie Green 3-2 Aden Kirk
Christopher Lawrence 3-1 Liam Saxon
Ryan Maher 3-0 Carl Draper
Ricky Evans 3-0 Joe Thompson
Sam Hill 3-0 Scott Pearson
Co Stompe Jnr 3-0 Michael Bushby
Simon Hicks 3-0 Kevin Dowling
James Young 3-0 Adam Hart
Curtis Hammond 3-1 Christian Pimblett
Joe Pearce 3-2 Jordan Hardy
Spencer Murphy 3-0 Ryan Herrington
Adam Smith-Neale 3-0 Jamie Landon
Chris Aubrey 3-2 Ryan Hitchens
Michael Smith 3-1 Steven Kirby
Ben Oldroyd 3-0 Luke Humphries
Michael van Gerwen 3-1 Scott Rollings
Adam Hunt 3-2 Kacey Jones
Anthony West 3-0 George Killington
Ryan Iceton 3-1 Sam Schofield
Joe Cullen 3-0 Marc Evans
James Thompson 3-0 James Hadjar
Darren Whittingham 3-0 Adam Griffiths
Shaun Griffiths 3-1 David Coyne
Paul Cooper 3-0 David Galaska
Ryan Harrington 3-0 Joshua Priestley
Josh Jones 3-0 Paul Mitchell
Scott Taylor 3-0 Dan Read
Damien Smith 3-2 Bradley Williams

Second Round
Reece Robinson 3-1 Jonathan Mulley
Paul Barham 3-1 Brandon Walsh
Christopher Lawrence 3-2 Jamie Green
Ryan Maher 3-1 Ricky Evans
Sam Hill 3-1 Co Stompe Jnr
James Young 3-1 Simon Hicks
Curtis Hammond 3-1 Joe Pearce
Adam Smith-Neale 3-0 Spencer Murphy
Michael Smith 3-1 Chris Aubrey
Michael van Gerwen 3-1 Ben Oldroyd
Adam Hunt 3-2 Anthony West
Joe Cullen 3-2 Ryan Iceton
James Thompson 3-0 Darren Whittingham
Shaun Griffiths 3-0 Paul Cooper
Josh Jones 3-2 Ryan Harrington
Scott Taylor 3-0 Damien Smith

Third Round
Reece Robinson 3-0 Paul Barham
Christopher Lawrence 3-1 Ryan Maher
Sam Hill 3-1 James Young
Adam Smith-Neale 3-0 Curtis Hammond
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Michael Smith
Adam Hunt 3-1 Joe Cullen
Shaun Griffiths 3-1 James Thompson
Scott Taylor 3-1 Josh Jones
Losers £25

Reece Robinson 3-2 Christoper Lawrence
Adam Smith-Neale 3-1 Sam Hill
Michael van Gerwen 3-2 Adam Hunt
Shaun Griffiths 3-2 Scott Taylor
Losers £100

Reece Robinson 4-1 Adam Smith-Neale
Shaun Griffiths 4-3 Michael van Gerwen
Losers £200

Reece Robinson 4-0 Shaun Griffiths
Winner £600
Runner-Up £400

Source – PDC

About The Author