ALEX ROY won his first title since March 2005 with a final-leg triumph over Denis Ovens in the Scottish Players Championship.

Roy claimed a dramatic victory at the Magnum Centre in Irvine to claim the £5,000 title – and a Players Championship qualifying place in the European Championship at the end of the month.

Roy took the final’s first set before Ovens won four of the next five legs to lead 2-1 in the game.

Roy won set four without reply, but an 11-darter saw Ovens lead in the deciding set.

Watford-based Roy levelled with a 101 finish to send the match all the way, and a brilliant 161 checkout earned him victory.

He had also come from behind to win his semi-final against Terry Jenkins, and defeated Vincent van der Voort, Felix McBrearty, Adrian Lewis, Carlos Rodrgiuez and Jason Clark on the day.

Ovens reached his third final of the year with a 3-1 win over Steve Maish in the semi-final, and narrow five-set wins over Wayne Jones, Dave Smith and Mark Dudbridge.

Maish’s semi-final appearance – his second in a month – also lifted his hopes of claiming European Championship qualification spot, as well as his hopes of winning a place in the World Darts Championship in December.

World number three James Wade, two-time World Champion Dennis Priestley and Colin Lloyd were all first round casualties, with the latter going down in a deciding leg to Ayshire’s local star Robert Thornton.

Thornton went on to lose to Andy Jenkins in the last 16, with Northern Ireland’s McBrearty, Liverpool’s Lee Palfreyman and Leeds’ Smith also going down in the fourth round.

Wolverhampton’s Jones squandered a two-set lead in his quarter-final with Ovens, while Maish came from a set down to defeat Andy Jenkins.

Scottish Players Championship – Saturday
Preliminary Round
Alan Warriner-Little 3-2 Ian Critchett
Dave Smith 3-2 Ken Dobson
Brendan Dolan 3-0 Dave Ansell
Shane O’Connor 3-0 Mike Herold
Dennis Smith 3-1 Alan Caves
Andy Howarth 3-1 Jon Archer
Alan Green 3-1 Jim Young
Jelle Klaasen 3-1 Jamie Caven
Mark Stephenson 3-2 Ben Burton
Matt Jackson 3-2 Pete Allen
Gary Mawson 3-0 Steve Brown
Jason Crawley Bye (Gary Storey)
Peter Walford 3-0 Dave Ladley
Louis Blundell 3-1 Geoff Wylie
Joey Palfreyman 3-1 Mark Layton
Chris Cooper 3-1 Dave Honey
Sam Rooney 3-2 Mark Jodrill
Tony Ayres Bye (Shane Passey)
Co Stompe 3-0 Robbie Newland
Justin Pipe 3-0 Lee White
Steve Musson 3-0 Darrell Townsend
Richie Burnett 3-0 Tom Martin
Stephen Hardy 3-2 Steve Cupitt
Carlos Rodriguez 3-1 Sean Palfrey
James Keogh 3-2 Mark Jones
Felix McBrearty 3-2 Sean White
Bill Davis 3-0 Ian Perkins
Arron Monk 3-1 Lee Holden
Jonathan Overton 3-0 Geoff Daniels
Steve Grubb 3-1 Martin Burchell
Martyn Turner 3-0 Andy Mason
Kevin McDine Bye (Shayne Burgess)
Ian Jopling 3-1 Russell Mason
Ian Walters 3-2 Matt Gallett
John Kuczynski 3-1 Davey Mansell
Paul Knighton 3-1 Kevin Hill

First Round
Dylan Duo 3-1 Andy Smith
Kevin Harris 3-0 Steve Randall
Ian Eames Bye (Matt Clark withdrawn)
Dave Smith 3-2 Alan Warriner-Little
Denis Ovens 3-0 David Platt
Michael Rosenauer 3-0 Jim Leighton
Mark Dudbridge 3-1 Brendan Dolan
Shane O’Connor 3-0 Dennis Smith
Michael Barnard 3-1 Dennis Priestley
Mark Carter 3-2 Aaron Turner
Wayne Jones 3-0 John Dawes
Alan Green 3-2 Andy Howarth
Alan Tabern 3-0 Jamie Harvey
Erwin Extercatte Bye (Taro Yachi)
John MaGowan 3-2 Adrian Gray
Jelle Klaasen 3-0 Mark Stephenson
Robert Thornton 3-2 Colin Lloyd
Chris Daglish 3-2 Peter Wright
Steve Beaton 3-0 Paul Anthony
Matt Jackson 3-1 Gary Mawson
Ronnie Baxter 3-0 Gary Blades
Steve Cusick 3-1 Lionel Sams
Andy Jenkins 3-2 Gary Welding
Jason Crawley 3-1 Peter Walford
Wayne Mardle 3-0 Michael Smith
Steve Maish 3-1 John Quantock
Mick McGowan 3-1 Danny King
Louis Blundell 3-1 Joey Palfreyman
Colin Osborne 3-0 Norman Fletcher
Simon Craven 3-2 Jim Withers
Kirk Shepherd 3-1 Chris Cooper
Tony Ayres 3-2 Sam Rooney
James Wade 3-0 David Davies
Lee Palfreyman 3-1 Steve Hine
Tony Eccles 3-0 Stuart Holden
Justin Pipe 3-2 Co Stompe
Kevin Painter 3-0 Steve Evans
Nick Fulwell 3-1 Andy Relf
Vincent van der Voort 3-0 Steve Musson
Richie Burnett 3-1 Stephen Hardy
Adrian Lewis 3-1 Scott Kirchner
Mark Frost 3-2 Colin McGarry
Alex Roy 3-1 Jason Clark
Carlos Rodriguez 3-1 James Keogh
Jan van der Rassel 3-0 Roland Scholten
Andy Pearson 3-0 Steve Watts
Isen Veljic 3-2 Mark Walsh
Felix McBrearty 3-2 Bill Davis
Andy Hamilton 3-1 Andrew Davies
Darren Johnson 3-1 Gary Noonan
Colin Monk 3-2 Wes Newton
Arron Monk 3-0 Jonathan Overton
Peter Manley 3-1 Chris Beeston
Jacko Barry 3-0 Robbie Parker
Barrie Bates 3-1 Wayne Atwood
Martyn Turner 3-0 Steve Grubb
Terry Jenkins 3-0 Danny Pinhorne
Kevin Dowling 3-2 Robert Watson-Lang
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Lee Williams
Kevin McDine 3-1 Ian Jopling
Mervyn King 3-0 Karl Loiseau
John Jenkinson 3-2 Peter Aleman
Ian Walters 3-1 Chris Mason
Paul Knighton 3-1 John Kuczynski

Second Round
Kevin Harris 3-1 Dylan Duo
Dave Smith 3-1 Ian Eames
Denis Ovens 3-0 Michael Rosenauer
Mark Dudbridge 3-0 Shane O’Connor
Michael Barnard 3-2 Mark Carter
Wayne Jones 3-0 Alan Green
Alan Tabern 3-0 Erwin Extercatte
Jelle Klaasen 3-1 John MaGowan
Robert Thornton 3-0 Chris Daglish
Matt Jackson 3-2 Steve Beaton
Ronnie Baxter 3-1 Steve Cusick
Andy Jenkins 3-1 Jason Crawley
Steve Maish 3-1 Wayne Mardle
Mick McGowan 3-0 Louis Blundell
Colin Osborne 3-0 Simon Craven
Tony Ayres 3-1 Kirk Shepherd
Lee Palfreyman 3-2 James Wade
Tony Eccles 3-2 Justin Pipe
Kevin Painter 3-2 Nick Fulwell
Vincent van der Voort 3-1 Richie Burnett
Adrian Lewis 3-1 Mark Frost
Alex Roy 3-2 Carlos Rodriguez
Jan van der Rassel 3-1 Andy Pearson
Felix McBrearty 3-0 Isen Veljic
Andy Hamilton 3-1 Darren Johnson
Colin Monk 3-1 Arron Monk
Jacko Barry 3-0 Peter Manley
Martyn Turner 3-0 Barrie Bates
Terry Jenkins 3-0 Kevin Dowling
Kevin McDine 3-1 Michael van Gerwen
Mervyn King 3-0 John Jenkinson
Paul Knighton 3-0 Ian Walters
Losers £75

Third Round
Dave Smith 3-0 Kevin Harris
Denis Ovens 3-2 Mark Dudbridge
Wayne Jones 3-0 Michael Barnard
Alan Tabern 3-1 Jelle Klaasen
Robert Thornton 3-2 Matt Jackson
Andy Jenkins 3-1 Ronnie Baxter
Steve Maish 3-1 Mick McGowan
Tony Ayres 3-0 Colin Osborne
Lee Palfreyman 3-1 Tony Eccles
Vincent van der Voort 3-2 Kevin Painter
Alex Roy 3-0 Adrian Lewis
Felix McBrearty 3-1 Jan van der Rassel
Andy Hamilton 3-1 Colin Monk
Martyn Turner 3-1 Jacko Barry
Terry Jenkins 3-0 Kevin McDine
Mervyn King 3-2 Paul Knighton
Losers £150

Fourth Round
Denis Ovens 3-2 Dave Smith
Wayne Jones 3-2 Alan Tabern
Andy Jenkins 3-1 Robert Thornton
Steve Maish 3-2 Tony Ayres
Vincent van der Voort 3-1 Lee Palfreyman
Alex Roy 3-2 Felix McBrearty
Andy Hamilton 3-1 Martyn Turner
Terry Jenkins 3-1 Mervyn King
Losers £300

Denis Ovens 3-2 Wayne Jones (0-2, 0-2, 2-1, 2-1, 2-0)
Steve Maish 3-1 Andy Jenkins (1-2, 2-0, 2-1, 2-0)
Alex Roy 3-1 Vincent van der Voort (2-0, 2-1, 1-2, 2-1)
Terry Jenkins 3-1 Andy Hamilton (2-0, 2-1, 1-2, 2-1)
Losers £600

Denis Ovens 3-1 Steve Maish (0-2, 2-1, 2-1, 2-0)
Alex Roy 3-2 Terry Jenkins (2-1, 1-2, 0-2, 2-1, 2-1)
Losers £1,250

Alex Roy 3-2 Denis Ovens (2-0, 1-2, 0-2, 2-0, 2-1)
Winner £5,000
Runner-Up £2,500

About The Author