Colin OsborneEdward Santos has withdrawn from the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship, with Colin Osborne replacing the Philippines Qualifier in the preliminary round draw.

Santos had been set to make his World Championship debut at Alexandra Palace after winning the Philippines Qualifier earlier this year, but has withdrawn from the tournament due to ‘travel’ problems.

His place in the preliminary round will now be taken by Osborne under PDC Rule 3.8, which states that if a player pulls out of an event after the draw has been made, the next non-qualified player from the main PDC Order of Merit will be invited to take their place.

Former Championship League Darts winner and UK Open finalist Osborne, who recently dropped out of the world’s top 32, will now take on Denmark’s Dennis Lindskjold in the preliminary round on Sunday December 15.

The winner will progress to face Brendan Dolan in the first round later that night.

2014 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship Schedule of Play Amendments

The relevant schedule of play amendments are as follows:

Sunday December 15 (7pm-12am)
Dave Chisnall v John Henderson
Dennis Lindskjold v Colin Osborne (P)
Raymond van Barneveld v Jamie Lewis
Brendan Dolan v Lindskjold/Osborne
Jamie Caven v Jelle Klaasen

Sunday December 22
Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Dolan/Lindskjold/Osborne v G Anderson/Dudbridge
Painter/Seyler v Nicholson/Kellett
Whitlock/R Smith v Walsh/Komula

Saturday December 28
Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
A Lewis/D Smith/van der Voort/Clark v King/Young/Baxter/Evans
Wade/D Webster/A Smith/Brown v Pipe/Monk/Beaton/Petersen/Sapup
van Gerwen/Lerchbacher/Ward/Jones/McDine v Dolan/Lindskjold/Osborne/G Anderson/Dudbridge

About The Author