Championship League Darts

Ladbrokes World ChampionshipTournament History

The Championship League Darts tournament was added to the PDC calendar in 2008 and was the first darts tournament to be solely broadcast on, and funded by, Internet distribution. The prize fund for 2008 was £189,000.

The tournament was broadcast over the internet by Ladbrokes and Bet365 via a live stream.

Details of the first tournament are below. Phil Taylor won it and full results can be found on our Results page.

THE groups for the inaugural Championship League Darts have been confirmed - with Phil Taylor and James Wade among the players to compete on the opening day of the new event.

The new tournament, staged at Crondon Park Golf Club in Essex, will see players compete in eight-man groups on eight days throughout September and October, with the league winners then progressing to the Winners Group on Thursday October 23.

Each day will see the eight players meet once in a round robin format, with the top four progressing to two semi-finals and the winners then playing off in the final to determine a league winner from that group.

Each day's champion will progress to the Winners Group whilst the bottom two players in each day's league table will be eliminated from the competition.

The remaining five players will progress to the next day's League where they will be joined by the next three highest ranked eligible players, based on the PDC Order of Merit after the Stan James World Matchplay.

The opening day will feature Phil Taylor, James Wade, Terry Jenkins, Wayne Mardle, Andy Hamilton, Colin Lloyd, Roland Scholten and Alan Tabern.

Dennis Priestley, Ronnie Baxter and Kevin Painter will come in for Group Two.

World number two Raymond van Barneveld, who is taking a two-month sabbatical from darts following the World Matchplay, and Canadian-based John Part are not taking part in Championship League Darts, while Adrian Lewis is unavailable for the first two groups as he completes a two-month suspension.

League matches will be the best of ten legs, with the first player to reach six legs deemed the winner with no further legs played, or the two league points being shared for a 5-5 draw.

Semi-Finals will be the best of 11 legs and the final will be the best of 13 legs.

Prize money in the group phase is £50 per leg won during the round robin games and £100 per leg won in the semi-finals and final.

In the Winners Group on Thursday October 23, prize money increases to £100 per leg won in the group matches and £200 per leg won in the semi-finals and final.

The semi-final losers from the Winners Group will also receive £2,500, the runner-up will receive £5,000 and the winner receives £10,000 and a place in the Grand Slam of Darts.

Overall, there is an achieveable prize fund of £189,000 on offer in the nine days of Championship League Darts, putting it in the top ten richest darts tournaments in the world, despite only being available through the internet.

Each day's play will begin at 11am, and is expected to finish at around 8pm, with live streaming of all games on and, with further announcements in the next week about other bookmaker partners.

To view the Championship League Darts, users must be registered with the specific website but there is no commitment to placing bets. The stream will be available internationally, except in the United States of America, where for legal reasons it cannot be shown.

Championship League Darts
Group One - Tuesday September 2
Phil Taylor
James Wade
Terry Jenkins
Wayne Mardle
Andy Hamilton
Colin Lloyd
Roland Scholten
Alan Tabern

Group Two - Wednesday September 3
Players 2-6 from Group One plus
Dennis Priestley
Ronnie Baxter
Kevin Painter

Group Three - Monday September 22
Players 2-6 from Group Two plus
Adrian Lewis
Colin Osborne
Denis Ovens

Group Four - Tuesday September 23
Players 2-6 from Group Three plus
Peter Manley
Mervyn King
Mark Dudbridge

Group Five - Wednesday September 24
Players 2-6 from Group Four plus
Vincent van der Voort
Chris Mason
Kirk Shepherd

Group Six - Thursday September 25
Players 2-6 from Group Five plus
Andy Jenkins
Barrie Bates
Andy Smith

Group Seven - Tuesday October 21
Players 2-6 from Group Six plus
Mark Walsh
Adrian Gray
Wayne Jones

Group Eight - Wednesday October 22
Players 2-6 from Group Seven plus
Mick McGowan
Alex Roy
Wes Newton

Winners Group - Thursday October 23
All eight group winners

Please Note - should Phil Taylor, James Wade or Wayne Mardle finish from 2-6 in Group Five, they would not be able to compete in Group Six due to their commitments in the Emperors Palace South African Masters. Therefore, if needed, Mark Walsh, Adrian Gray and Wayne Jones (in that order of invitation) would be invited to compete in Group Six in their place and the invitations for Group Seven and Group Eight may be affected accordingly.

Timberland Nike Skor Cheap Nikes Cheap Ray Bans Armani Borse Skor Online Celine Borse Chanel Borse Fendi Borse Gucci Borse Hogan Borse michael kors louis vuitton new balance Michael Kors Nike Blazer Nike Skor Nike Skor Ralph Lauren Ralph Lauren Ray Ban Ray Ban Scarpe Adidas Timberland Timberland Nike Air Nike Air Max New Balance Woolrich Scarpe Online Calvin Klein Louis Vuitton Michael Kors New Balance Nike Air Max Oakley Ray Ban Baratas Air Jordan Release Dates Timberland Boots Calvin Klein Louis Vuitton Michael Kors Michael Kors New Balance Shoes Nike Blazer Nike Trainer Ray Ban Sunglasses Converse Shoes Air Jordan Air Jordan Release Dates Air Jordan Retro Jordan Shoes Michael Kors Cheap Air Jordans Cheap Jordans Cheap Converse Michael Kors Michael Kors Cheap Oakley Cheap Oakley Sunglasses Cheap Ray Bans Timberland Boots Timberland Boots Cheap Toms Christian Louboutin Christian Louboutin Christian Louboutin Sale Converse High Tops Converse Sale Converse Shoes Jordan Shoes For Sale Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Outlet Michael Kors Kors Outlet New Balance Air Jordan Release Dates Nike Air Force Nike Air Max Nike Air Yeezy Nike Cortez Nike Free Oakley Sunglasses Sale Ray Ban Aviators Ray Ban Clubmaster Ray Bans Ray Ban Sunglasses Ray Ban Wayfarer Jordan Retro Jordan Shoes Nike Shox Timberland Boots Timberland Outlet Toms Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses Air Force One Nike Air Force Air Max Nike Blazer Sac Lancel Louis Vuitton Louis Vuitton MCM Taschen Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors New Balance New Balance Air Max Pas Cher Nike Free Run Nike Blazer Ray Ban Nike Free Run Nike Free Run Nike Shox Timberland Schuhe Chaussure Timberland Timberland Pas Cher Timberland Air Jordan 11 Jordan 13 Jordan 6 Cheap Jordans Cheap Ray Bans Converse Pas Cher Jordans Jordan Shoes Michael Kors Nike Air Max Nike Blazer Nike Free Run Lunette Oakley Oakley Store Oakley Sunglasses Ray Ban Ray Ban Sale Ray Ban Sac Lancel Timberland Nike Free 5.0 Converse Shoes Nike Shoes Ugg Boots