Lakeside World Championship

View 2009 Fixtures, Odds & Head 2 Heads

Lakeside World ChampionshipTournament History

The Lakeside World Professional Darts Championship began in 1978 where it was staged at the Heart of the Midlands nightclub in Nottingham. In 1979 the event moved to Jollees Cabaret Club in Stoke and there it remained until 1985.

In 1985 the tournament moved to the Lakeside Country Club, Frimley Green in Surrey and has been there ever since, establishing itself as the spiritual home of darts.

The Lakeside tournament has been organised by the BDO for its entire life and was commonly known as the Embassy World Championship due to its Imperial Tobacco sponsorship. These days it is known simply as the Lakeside tournament and is only contested by BDO players due to the split that occurred in the early nineties.

The Lakeside tournament is still broadcast on BBC (the only other tournament that BBC have stayed loyal to is the Winmau World Masters) and pulls in 3-4 million viewers every year - far more than Sky receive for the PDC version.

The first winner of the Embassy in 1978 was Welshman Leighton Rees. He was followed in 1979 by John Lowe who went on to win the title in three different decades. Two other Welshman have followed in Rees' steps - Ritchie Burnett in 1995 and most recently, Mark Webster in 2008.

Phil Taylor is by far the most successful world champion, winning his 13th title in 2006, but only two were in the BDO version. Eric Bristow won 5 Embassy world titles making him the most successful player of the period before the split. Raymond van Barneveld is the only other player to rival that record with all his five titles coming in the post-split era.

In 1983 an unseeded Keith Deller became the youngest ever world champion and caused one of the great darts upsets in beating the seemingly invincible Eric Bristow. It wasn't until 2006, when Jelle Klaasen shocked van Barneveld, that somebody so young would win it again. 2008 champion Mark Webster is another youngster - he and Klaasen sandwich the oldest ever winner, Martin Adams, who won a thriller in 2007.

Only two players have ever defended their title - van Barneveld (1999) and Eric Bristow who was champion in 1980 and 1981 and won it three times running from 1984 to 1986.

When Leighton Rees won the first ever title in 1978 he won £3000. 30 years later Mark Webster won £85,000 with beaten finalist Simon Whitlock earning himself a £30,000 payout. In 1988 Bob Anderson won £16,000 and in 1998 van Barneveld's winners cheque was for £40,000.

In 1990 American player Paul Lim hit the tournament's only ever perfect 9-dart finish in the second round against Irishman Jack McKenna to win a bonus of £50,000 which was more than the eventual champion.

Lakeside Roll Of Honour

Timberland Nike Skor Cheap Nikes Cheap Ray Bans Armani Borse Skor Online Celine Borse Chanel Borse Fendi Borse Gucci Borse Hogan Borse michael kors louis vuitton new balance Michael Kors Nike Blazer Nike Skor Nike Skor Ralph Lauren Ralph Lauren Ray Ban Ray Ban Scarpe Adidas Timberland Timberland Nike Air Nike Air Max New Balance Woolrich Scarpe Online Calvin Klein Louis Vuitton Michael Kors New Balance Nike Air Max Oakley Ray Ban Baratas Air Jordan Release Dates Timberland Boots Calvin Klein Louis Vuitton Michael Kors Michael Kors New Balance Shoes Nike Blazer Nike Trainer Ray Ban Sunglasses Converse Shoes Air Jordan Air Jordan Release Dates Air Jordan Retro Jordan Shoes Michael Kors Cheap Air Jordans Cheap Jordans Cheap Converse Michael Kors Michael Kors Cheap Oakley Cheap Oakley Sunglasses Cheap Ray Bans Timberland Boots Timberland Boots Cheap Toms Christian Louboutin Christian Louboutin Christian Louboutin Sale Converse High Tops Converse Sale Converse Shoes Jordan Shoes For Sale Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Outlet Michael Kors Kors Outlet New Balance Air Jordan Release Dates Nike Air Force Nike Air Max Nike Air Yeezy Nike Cortez Nike Free Oakley Sunglasses Sale Ray Ban Aviators Ray Ban Clubmaster Ray Bans Ray Ban Sunglasses Ray Ban Wayfarer Jordan Retro Jordan Shoes Nike Shox Timberland Boots Timberland Outlet Toms Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses Air Force One Nike Air Force Air Max Nike Blazer Sac Lancel Louis Vuitton Louis Vuitton MCM Taschen Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors New Balance New Balance Air Max Pas Cher Nike Free Run Nike Blazer Ray Ban Nike Free Run Nike Free Run Nike Shox Timberland Schuhe Chaussure Timberland Timberland Pas Cher Timberland Air Jordan 11 Jordan 13 Jordan 6 Cheap Jordans Cheap Ray Bans Converse Pas Cher Jordans Jordan Shoes Michael Kors Nike Air Max Nike Blazer Nike Free Run Lunette Oakley Oakley Store Oakley Sunglasses Ray Ban Ray Ban Sale Ray Ban Sac Lancel Timberland Nike Free 5.0 Converse Shoes Nike Shoes Ugg Boots