DartsMad RSS Feed DartsMad is Delicious Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter 


Blue Square UK OpenTournament History

The UK Open is a unique darts tournament that in many ways harks back to the old News Of The World Championship. Several regional heats and amateur qualifiers are held around the UK giving just about anybody who can pick up a dart the chance of winning through to the TV finals. The finals are held over four days n June.

The field of 96 players from a UK Open Order of Merit determined following 8 qualifying events will be joined by 32 Rileys Qualifiers and 32 Speedy Hire Qualifiers to battle it out in what has become known as 'The FA Cup of Darts'. This name comes from the fact that an open draw is made after every round and no seeding is used. This means anybody can draw anybody...and they often do. The tournament is always full of shocks and often there are high profile clashes in the very early stages.

Since 2003 the tournament has been held at The Reebok Stadium and has been aired on Sky TV. Sky Bet were the sponsors for the first year. Budweiser took over for 2004 to 2006, and Blue Square sponsored it from 2007 to 2010. the latest title sponsors since 2011 are Speedy Services.

It was the first major title for Raymond van Barneveld in 2006 after switching to the PDC and he successfully defended it a year later in 2007. To highlight the nature of the tournament, where shocks are commonplace, Phil Taylor only own it twice in the first six years- 2003 and 2005. However, he has hit four 9-dart finishes in the tournament (in 2004, 2005, 2007 and 2008) and lifted the title twice more in 2009 and 2010.

In 2011 and 2012 the event was won by James Wade and Robert Thornton respectively, before Phil Taylor took a fifth title in 2013.

Prize money has risen from £124,000 (£30,000 to the winner) in 2003 to £200,000 (£40,000 to the winner) in 2011.

UK Open Roll Of Honour

Timberland Nike Skor Cheap Nikes Cheap Ray Bans Armani Borse Skor Online Celine Borse Chanel Borse Fendi Borse Gucci Borse Hogan Borse michael kors louis vuitton new balance Michael Kors Nike Blazer Nike Skor Nike Skor Ralph Lauren Ralph Lauren Ray Ban Ray Ban Scarpe Adidas Timberland Timberland Nike Air Nike Air Max New Balance Woolrich Scarpe Online Calvin Klein Louis Vuitton Michael Kors New Balance Nike Air Max Oakley Ray Ban Baratas Air Jordan Release Dates Timberland Boots Calvin Klein Louis Vuitton Michael Kors Michael Kors New Balance Shoes Nike Blazer Nike Trainer Ray Ban Sunglasses Converse Shoes Air Jordan Air Jordan Release Dates Air Jordan Retro Jordan Shoes Michael Kors Cheap Air Jordans Cheap Jordans Cheap Converse Michael Kors Michael Kors Cheap Oakley Cheap Oakley Sunglasses Cheap Ray Bans Timberland Boots Timberland Boots Cheap Toms Christian Louboutin Christian Louboutin Christian Louboutin Sale Converse High Tops Converse Sale Converse Shoes Jordan Shoes For Sale Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Outlet Michael Kors Kors Outlet New Balance Air Jordan Release Dates Nike Air Force Nike Air Max Nike Air Yeezy Nike Cortez Nike Free Oakley Sunglasses Sale Ray Ban Aviators Ray Ban Clubmaster Ray Bans Ray Ban Sunglasses Ray Ban Wayfarer Jordan Retro Jordan Shoes Nike Shox Timberland Boots Timberland Outlet Toms Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses Air Force One Nike Air Force Air Max Nike Blazer Sac Lancel Louis Vuitton Louis Vuitton MCM Taschen Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors New Balance New Balance Air Max Pas Cher Nike Free Run Nike Blazer Ray Ban Nike Free Run Nike Free Run Nike Shox Timberland Schuhe Chaussure Timberland Timberland Pas Cher Timberland Air Jordan 11 Jordan 13 Jordan 6 Cheap Jordans Cheap Ray Bans Converse Pas Cher Jordans Jordan Shoes Michael Kors Nike Air Max Nike Blazer Nike Free Run Lunette Oakley Oakley Store Oakley Sunglasses Ray Ban Ray Ban Sale Ray Ban Sac Lancel Timberland Nike Free 5.0 Converse Shoes Nike Shoes Ugg Boots