Winmau World Masters

Winmau World MastersTournament History

The Winmau World Masters has been running since 1974, predating the World Championship even, and is still going strong alongside the Worlds as the only two majors left in the BDO calendar. Darts manufacturer Winmau have sponsored the event since 1976 and have a contract until 2015. The first sponsor was Phonogram in 1974 and 1975.

The venue has changed regularly over the years found a home in Bridlington in recent times, but 2010 saw the event travel southwards down the coast to Hull City Hall. The 2011 event remains in Hull but moves venue to the Hull Arena and will be shown live and exclusively by sports media company ESPN, ending a 9 year relationship with the BBC. Previous broadcasters include ITV and Sky.

World Masters weekend also features the play offs for the Lakeside World Championship and is a critical time of the season for all those players hoping to make it to Frimley Green.

Eric Bristow won the World Masters 5 times and was the only person other than Bob Anderson to successfully defend the title. Anderson actually won it 3 times on the trot between 1986 and 1988. However, Martin 'Wolfie' Adams started his 3 year stranglehold on the tournament in 2008, and 2011 sees him top seeded in his attempt to defend and take his 4th title. They are three of eleven players to have won both the World Masters and World Championship but only five have won both in the same season - Bristow (who did it 3 times), Adams (twice to date) and Anderson are joined by Richie Burnett and John Walton in this exclusive club. Phil Taylor and Raymond van Barneveld held both at the same time but they were won in different seasons...which tough as it seems doesn't count!

van Barneveld lifted the title twice before switching to the PDC and has Dave Whitcombe and John Lowe for company as double winners of this prestigious title. Michael van Gerwen became the youngest ever winner in 2006 when he shocked Martin Adams who up until 2008 had failed to get his hands on the trophy.

Robert Thornton took the honours in 2007, which to date his is only major title, despite switching to play his darts in the tournament rich PDC.

World Masters Mens Roll Of Honour


1974-1976 West Centre Hotel, Fulham
1977 Wembley Conference Centre
1978 Horticultural Hall, Victoria, London
1979-1981 Wembley Conference Centre
1982-1989 Rainbow Suite, Kensington
1990-1991 Ramada Inn. Lillie Road, West London
1992-1995 Earls Court, London
1996-1997 Paragon Hotel, Lillie Road, London
1998-2001 Lakeside Country Club, Frimley Green Surrey
2002-2005 Bridlington Spa Royal Hall
2006-2007 Leisure World, Bridlington
2008-2009 Bridlington Spa Royal Hall
2010 Hull City Hall
2011-present Hull Arena

Past Winners - Women & Youth
Year Womens Champions Boys Champions Girls Champions Mixed Youth Champions
2010 Julie Gore Wal Reece Robinson Eng Zoe Jones Eng
2009 Linda Ithurralde Ned Jamie Lewis Wal Zoe Jones Eng
2008 Francis Hoenselaar Ned Shaun Griffiths Eng Linda Oden Swe
2007 Karin Krappen Ned Shaun Griffiths Eng Kimberley Lewis Wal
2006 Francis Hoenselaar Ned Maarten Pape Ned Kimberley Lewis Wal
2005 Trina Gulliver Eng Jonny Nijs Ned Laura Tye Eng
2004 Trina Gulliver Eng Oskar Lukasiak Swe Irene Adrianova Rus
2003 Trina Gulliver Eng Kirk Shepherd Eng Stevis Riggs Eng
2002 Trina Gulliver Eng Sean McDonald Sco Lynsey McDonald Sco
2001 Anne Kirk Sco Stephen Bunting Eng Anastasia Dobromislova Rus
2000 Trina Gulliver Eng Danny Ballard Eng Janine Gough Wal
1999 Francis Hoenselaar Ned Martin Brown Eng Janine Gough Wal
1998 Karen Smith Eng Paul Higgins Wal
1997 Mandy Solomons Eng Aaron Turner Eng
1996 Sharon Douglas Sco Carsten Hoffmann Ger
1995 Sharon Colclough Eng Martin Whatmough Eng
1994 Deta Hedman Eng Steven de Brucker Bel
1993 Mandy Solomons Eng Jamie Caven Eng
1992 Leeanne Maddock Wal Leeanne Maddock Wal
1991 Sandy Reitan USA Michael Barnard Eng
1990 Rhian Speed Wal Craig Clancy Eng
1989 Mandy Solomons Eng Dennis Beisser Eng
1988 Mandy Solomons Eng Sean Dowling Eng
1987 Ann Thomas Wal Sean Bell Eng
1986 Kathy Wones Eng Harith Lim Sing
1985 Lilian Barnett NZ
1984 Kathy Wones Eng
1983 Sonja Ralphs Eng
1982 Ann Marie Davies Wal


Timberland Nike Skor Cheap Nikes Cheap Ray Bans Armani Borse Skor Online Celine Borse Chanel Borse Fendi Borse Gucci Borse Hogan Borse michael kors louis vuitton new balance Michael Kors Nike Blazer Nike Skor Nike Skor Ralph Lauren Ralph Lauren Ray Ban Ray Ban Scarpe Adidas Timberland Timberland Nike Air Nike Air Max New Balance Woolrich Scarpe Online Calvin Klein Louis Vuitton Michael Kors New Balance Nike Air Max Oakley Ray Ban Baratas Air Jordan Release Dates Timberland Boots Calvin Klein Louis Vuitton Michael Kors Michael Kors New Balance Shoes Nike Blazer Nike Trainer Ray Ban Sunglasses Converse Shoes Air Jordan Air Jordan Release Dates Air Jordan Retro Jordan Shoes Michael Kors Cheap Air Jordans Cheap Jordans Cheap Converse Michael Kors Michael Kors Cheap Oakley Cheap Oakley Sunglasses Cheap Ray Bans Timberland Boots Timberland Boots Cheap Toms Christian Louboutin Christian Louboutin Christian Louboutin Sale Converse High Tops Converse Sale Converse Shoes Jordan Shoes For Sale Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors Outlet Michael Kors Kors Outlet New Balance Air Jordan Release Dates Nike Air Force Nike Air Max Nike Air Yeezy Nike Cortez Nike Free Oakley Sunglasses Sale Ray Ban Aviators Ray Ban Clubmaster Ray Bans Ray Ban Sunglasses Ray Ban Wayfarer Jordan Retro Jordan Shoes Nike Shox Timberland Boots Timberland Outlet Toms Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses Air Force One Nike Air Force Air Max Nike Blazer Sac Lancel Louis Vuitton Louis Vuitton MCM Taschen Michael Kors Michael Kors Michael Kors New Balance New Balance Air Max Pas Cher Nike Free Run Nike Blazer Ray Ban Nike Free Run Nike Free Run Nike Shox Timberland Schuhe Chaussure Timberland Timberland Pas Cher Timberland Air Jordan 11 Jordan 13 Jordan 6 Cheap Jordans Cheap Ray Bans Converse Pas Cher Jordans Jordan Shoes Michael Kors Nike Air Max Nike Blazer Nike Free Run Lunette Oakley Oakley Store Oakley Sunglasses Ray Ban Ray Ban Sale Ray Ban Sac Lancel Timberland Nike Free 5.0 Converse Shoes Nike Shoes Ugg Boots